Little Red


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hiroshima
March 25th 2007
Published: March 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Check it out... this is my brand new bike. Small, but mighty these wee roadsters are very popular on Japan's busy streets. They can easily weave around old grandmothers, dawdling students, construction, and more. They are also compact and can be folded up for easy transport on busy trains. James got it for me as a birthday present before he left for Bali so that I can bike to and from work everyday in style (and with more gears to play with). He also got me a Gameboy so that I can play Tetris (my fave) when I ride the trains... I do A LOT of public commuting here.

Today I was talking to the Vice-Principal at our school about an unrelated topic and somehow it came up that he knew I had been riding my bike to work everyday. I hadn't said a word to him prior and the way he brought it up, it seems that perhaps the office staff and teachers have been talking. A few had mentioned that they noticed me riding in the mornings. I got a kick out of that. Sometimes I think I am invisible there, but really I am not. Especially not with a brand new red bike.

So yes, I know some of you are making jokes as I type this... that very nice young man from UC bought the old Bike Tours Manager her first brand new bike. The old Bike Tours Manager who more often than not would be rushing down Wayne Gretzky Dr. to the MS Society in her '89 Honda is now doing a 45 minute ride to work every morning.

MS 150, here I come. I'll be asking for donations... show me the money so I can finally put on that jersey!

P.S. James... lovin' the bike and gameboy. THANK YOU. I'm getting a lot of "sugois!!!!"

Advertisement



7th April 2007

Great!
I love the bike Hessen! You look so "Kawaii."
11th April 2007

So how about the Mountain Bike tour on your new red bike???
27th April 2007

love new bike!
I love your new bike! You'll have to ride the MS 150 next year!

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb