Day 56: Stupid School Day


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
May 8th 2009
Published: May 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=WvMvO78EqkQ][youtube=UH2NcrHokUs][youtube=gTU1RSraAUc]
More Friends Hanging Out!More Friends Hanging Out!More Friends Hanging Out!

We're classmates in my Japanese class. I really like them! Sam, Candy, Stefan, Amy, and Me! Uh oh...I should've called Frank. SORRY!!!!!!! It was a spontanous event!
Day : Stupid School Day
Friday, May 8, 2009


7:45am: I woke up and stared at the clock. What time was I suppose to leave the house for school?

7:50am: Sh*t! I realized that I needed to leave my house 5 minutes ago! I changed my clothes, rushed up the stairs, brushed my teeth, splashed water on my face, ate the salad and sausages (didn’t even bother making bread for myself), and I said thanks and bye to Manami.

8:00am: I ran out the door with an umbrella.

8:10am: On the train, I studied my note cards, just in case I made it in time for the quiz. I had a feeling that I will be on time.

9:16am: I made it to my classroom! I turned in my homework and Japanese composition. I took the quiz and realized that many people weren’t in class. Class was pretty stupid because we learned stuff that I use EVERYDAY. “I like…” “I dislike…” “You’re good at …” “I’m bad at…” And that was it. If someone didn’t KNOW that already, he/she shouldn’t even be in this class! I was frustrated for being taught something I already knew. How
Purikura!Purikura!Purikura!

They're really tiny!
can they teach “When I go to Japan, I have fun.” BEFORE teaching how to say “I like rice.” ?!?!?!

10:45am: Thank goodness that time flew by. I immediately went to Frank and asked what his girlfriend said. THAT is what was on my mind the whole day! He proposed to his girlfriend (now fiancé) on a cruise and it sounded SO CUTE. He said that he asked for his girlfriend’s parents’ blessing and then it took him an hour and 30 minutes to get the courage to get on his knee. I WISH I WAS THERE and took a video! Frank said that he wished that I was there taking video too. I would’ve put it on YOUTUBE! Btw, that was the secret that I couldn’t post earlier. The other day, Frank showed us the ring he bought for his girlfriend and he talked about how he was going to propose to his girlfriend. That was so sweet of him.

11:00am: Class began and I was again…bored. During the kanji section, which was new kanji. I don’t even know what they were because I was writing out my kanji note cards for next quiz. Then, we
Purikura 2Purikura 2Purikura 2

Trying to get a better look.
watched a video of a coffee scene. I didn’t understand a single word. I didn’t want to be in the class. We learned how to apologize and give an excuse.

12:30pm: Class finally ended! Frank and I bought our lunches from the cafeteria and ate quickly. Frank said that he thought he was going to feel lonely, but he didn’t. Maybe it was because I bond with him so well. I bond very well with very few people. I know I bond well with Frank because I remember that when I first met him, we were already cracking “insult” jokes at each other. It’s the same feeling when I met Candy, but I didn’t “insult” Candy because she’s a girl. I never try to “insult” a female…only males that I’m close to. That means I “insult” Jon the most. That’s why our relationship is NOT BORING.

1:00pm: Frank and I went to the GL-Net Lunch. We are always late. I mainly spoke to Kathryn, a classmate from my class. I didn’t feel like practicing Japanese today.

1:30pm: I went to my human resource class. It was so boring that I daydreamed about clubbing. We talked about part-time
Purikura 3Purikura 3Purikura 3

This is not working!
and full-time jobs and other useless things. I really rather be in a Japanese class. I met a Filipino person who lived in the Philippines and Japan. He seemed kinda…um…cocky? So, I wasn’t interested in talking to him after we did our ad together. I passed notes to Young, JT’s friend. Young is very nice and interesting.

3:45pm: Class ended early. I called Jon, but there was no answer. I went to my history class and I talked to Amy and her friend, Ryan. (This is another Ryan) We had an interesting conversation about abortion. I later see Nana, my Japanese girl friend. But I’m not close to that girl yet. I’m confused whether I should speak Japanese or English. Nana’s English is too good! And she did say that she want to practice English…

3:15pm: History class began and we watched a really interesting movie about Japan getting modernized in 40 years. I liked it a lot! The professor didn’t need a ticket to a photography museum and no one said they wanted it, so I decided to raise my hand. I got a free ticket to a photography museum!

4:45pm: Class ended. I went to
Purikura 4Purikura 4Purikura 4

These photos are TOO TINY!
meet up with Amy to practice our Japanese dialog.

5:30pm: Candy, Stefan, Amy, and I meet up and go to Shibuya. We walked around and later meet up with Sam. We’re from different countries. Amy and I are from America. Candy is from Australia. Sam is from Taiwan but he did grow up a bit in San Francisco and Australia. Stefan is from Germany. We ate from my favorite sushi restaurant. I’m glad that everyone enjoyed the sushi train thing. And it was really cheap because I ate A LOT of sushi for $12. I was really hungry…I usually spend $8 at this restaurant. It’s $1.20 for 1 plate and that includes tax already. Then, we just walked around the shops. We had lots of fun at a hat shop. And we went to an electronic store called, sakuraya. I bought headphones for $9.80. Then, we drank Starbucks. I ordered a $5 frappucino.

I had such a fun time talking to my newly bonded friends! I don’t think I can be lonely with this kind of love. And we all probably feel the same way right now. Sam has been in Japan since 2008 July, not knowing how
Purikura 5Purikura 5Purikura 5

See me? I have a "hat" on.
to read, write, understand, or even speak Japanese! He assumed that Japan would have English on the menu…boy was he WRONG! He struggled like crazy he said. But he seems SO Japanese to me! He keeps speaking in Japanese, and I speak back in Japanese. But there’s no way he’s Japanese because he seems TOO kind for a Japanese guy. He opens doors for ladies, gives his seat to ladies, etc. Japanese people are NOT taught to do this. I learned that the hard way…and it felt so “cold” to me. Amy talked about her life in America too and she loves her boyfriend a lot. Stefan talked about Youtube videos. Candy was giggling and smiling a lot. 😊

11:00pm: I headed home.

12:00am: I made it home. Today was the best day of my Japan life. I saved a bunch of pictures of Jon from Facebook and made a “Jon” folder and put it in my Zune. He WAS more handsome when he was skinner, when I first met him…but I still enjoy looking at all his “stupid” poses. I didn’t realize it…but I’m proud to have such a funny boyfriend. We didn’t get to talk on
Purikura 6Purikura 6Purikura 6

Sam looks like he's going to eat my head.
the phone for a while…which was a day. I missed his calls and he didn’t pick up…

6:00am: I went to sleep.

Note: I wrote this on Saturday, May 9, 2009, so details might be inaccurate. Times are approximate.
If you want a postcard/letter from me, please send me your address in a private message.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Purikura 7Purikura 7
Purikura 7

Candy is so cute!
Purikura 8Purikura 8
Purikura 8

:) I like everyone.


Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0719s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb