Day 38: Bonding with Candy


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
April 20th 2009
Published: April 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

HomeworkHomeworkHomework

I am very confused on this part...so I just guessed everything.
Day 38: Bonding with Candy
Monday, April 20, 2009


5:00am: I woke up, got ready, and did my homework sheets. I went upstairs once to ask my host mom for help. I couldn't read some of the kanji in my worksheets.

7:30am: I finally finished my worksheets and went upstairs to eat my breakfast (granola cereal, 2 small sausages, and a small crossant bread, and apple juice).

7:50am: I rushed out the door. I thought it was going to be cold, but I was wrong. The weather was TOO HOT for a sweater...and I had a sweater and coat on!

9:00am: I made it to my school. I was VERY happy and giddy today. Amy always comes right after me. Everyone tends to come at the same times. I turned in my homework. I was telling everyone about how much fun I had at the club. Candy and Frank wished they went with me. They're definitely coming with me next time! Also, Amy says she wants to come. I want to go twice a week, but I wonder if my (real) mom will be okay with that.

9:15am: Class started. We learned how to talk
Homework 2Homework 2Homework 2

It was pretty easy because I remember what to do from class.
about how big/long/high/etc. is and how to change verbs into keego. I thought, "So THIS is what Eileen was talking about!" I'm glad I know her for this information.

10:45am: Class ended. I continued to talk to Candy about the club. She also talked about Drama Club. She's actually very interested in English Club. I really like English Club and I would like Candy to go with me. 😊 We both look Japanese, so we actually meet a lot of Japanese people who don't like "Japanese" people who can't speak Japanese. I'm glad I know someone who felt the same as me.

11:00am: Class began. We learned new kanji, "wide/spacious," "shop," "degree/frequency," "sick," "fatigue/worn out," "pain," "roof/shop/house," "country," "turn/around," "trouble," "open," and "close." Then, we did a few conversation drills on keego. It was really difficult. Candy and I were laughing because I had a surprised expression everytime she spoke to me in Keego. I always mouth, "What the hell?!" I would never want anyone to talk to me in keego! It's so difficult to understand! (I still want to be a princess.)

12:30pm: Class finally ended. Candy and I went to KFC and we really talked
Kanji SheetKanji SheetKanji Sheet

Yea...I looked in my book for answers and how to write the kanji.
a lot about ourselves. Our lunch sandwiche with drink was only 500 yen and it was delicious. It's hard for me to really bond with someone and I'm so glad that I met Candy. I LOVE her name! She is HILARIOUS! I feel bad that I'm leaving in August and she's staying here on her own until 1.5 years. I want to stay with her!

2:00pm: I didn't want to stop talking with Candy, so we both went to buy ice-cream at the school cafeteria. She calls "cafeteria," "cantene." lol. I told her that I hate the cafeteria. There's a lot of hostile Japanese there. I KNOW they don't like me and I don't want to push my luck. I'm AFRAID of them. At least I admit it! She said she doesn't like it either, so we went outside. Candy and I met many of the CIEE students outside of the Building 11. Then, we went upstairs to talk somemore.

3:00pm: We were both tired because we slept late. So we said our goodbyes at the train station. We're definitely hanging out together! I like her a lot! I found out that the way Americans pronounce "can't" is
Kanji Sheet 2Kanji Sheet 2Kanji Sheet 2

I think I'm pretty smart for knowing almost all of these without opening the book. :)
different from Australia/New Zealand. She's from both countries.

4:00pm: I made it to my house at Zoshiki. I talked to my host mom for a long time. I was VERY happy today. It must've been because of the club. I was planning to take a nap but I was talking a lot to my host mom.

5:30pm: My host dad came back from work. I went to my room to take a nap.

7:00pm: My host mom calls me for dinner. I wake up and go upstairs. Dinner was great! I forgot what it's called but it was vegtables with this clear sauce, rice, really good seaweed? soup, and salad. I loved it! I couldn't gyoza because my tummy was too full. But I still ate 2 pieces of mochi because it was so delicious from yesterday! I really enjoyed my meal.

7:50pm: I watched "Natsu no Arashi" with my host dad. There was English subtitles and I really enjoyed my time watching anime with my host dad.

8:15pm: My host dad said that the new episode comes out next week. Good...because I need to study. I took a shower.

9:00pm: I did my homework sheets.

10:00pm: I finished early today. I wanted to blog, study, and call everyone I needed to call in America. So, I called Aimee first to greet her happy birthday. I knew our conversation would be long because we're just THAT close.

11:10pm: Then, I called my lovey boyfriend, Jon. I woke him up and he kept mumbling stuff...somewhere along the lines of "Come back home" "I miss you" "I love you" etc. lol, it was a short conversation because I let him go back to sleep.

11:12pm: Then, I called my mom. I had a great conversation with my mom. I told her about how I feel right now in Japan. I feel great! She read about me going to English club and going clubbing. I told her that dancing makes me so happy. I was actually getting really sad and I may have gone to a depression mode (avoiding people, eating lunch by myself or not eat food, and study). I really don't like my depression mode, so I was really glad I went to the club last weekend. My mom was very happy sounding. She said that it's okay for me to drink (a little) because I'm "of age" in Japan. So I'm glad that my mom is really understanding. She still told me not to do certain things like don't go with strangers, don't trust people, etc. Haha...I already know that stuff. She just felt the she just HAD to say those things to me. I know...she's my mom.

12:00am: I did my blog. I wish I did my notecards and studied. But of course...I still have to do this blog for my scholarship project. Good night.

Note: Times are approximate.
If you want a letter/postcard, send me your address.

Advertisement



21st April 2009

ur amazing blogs!
we don't know each other, but ur everyday's blog makes me feel I was there, and know things happened around you. I came across ur blogs on the front page on the other day, and I subscibed it, keep reading very day, I like your writing, and I like Japen as well
21st April 2009

I'm glad you're making friends. :D I'm here to practice Japanese whenever you want! I think Japanese like you...or least the guys! ;D I miss yoooou. Kekeke.
21st April 2009

Re: Joanahwho
Thank you! You're so kind! You really made my day. :)
21st April 2009

Re: Leen
I love hanging out with you too! It's so hard for me to really bond with someone and I'm so glad I found you!

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 5; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb