back in the land of the rising sun!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Saga
January 9th 2008
Published: January 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

First off - Happy New Year everyone! Hope you all had a great Christmas and New Year?! I had a really special time catching up with friends and family back home!

I’m lucky to have even made it back to England at all really considering that I got onto the plane 10 minutes before it was due to take off! As I had to fly to Osaka from Fukuoka at 7am, that meant getting to Fukuoka airport by 5am… so once I had arrived at Osaka airport, it was about 9am and feeling like lunchtime so I happily tucked into a pizza and read some trashy magazines… but the queue for the baggage check was horrendous and then I’d forgotten to fill in my re-entry permit form for immigration so I had to do that and then join the queue again… when I’d finally got through and was running towards my gate, I realised I had to get the monorail there! It was a pretty frantic dash, but I tried to stroll onto the plane as casually as I could! The flight was absolutely empty so I had 3 seats all to myself and the food was delish… I highly recommend flying with JAL!

It was a really strange feeling to be back in Osaka airport where I spent 4 hours when I first arrived in August and was absolutely petrified of what I was about to put myself through! But how great it was to be back there again knowing that I’m able to cope with everything on my own… and am making the most of every single day here!

I was really looking forward to starting back at school and catching up with all the teachers and students… I decided to let my hair go curly and wear it down (something I’ve never done for school before) but I wasn’t prepared for all the attention it got! Even the principal who sits in his office and never sees me commented on it! After blending in for 2 weeks in England, it was a nice feeling to come back here and feel different again! Although I’m starting to get embarrassed by the kids who just walk into the teachers room, point at me and say nothing but just ‘cute’ or ‘beautiful’… I’m sure the other teachers must think that I’m paying them to say it! Or maybe they’re just the only English words these kids can remember?!

With only 4 months left in Japan, I’m trying to plan when I can see and do everything that is left on my list! I’m hoping to organise a trip to Kyoto again with some of the girls so we can have a geisha makeover! I’m also hoping that I’ll be able to catch up with some of my Singapore friends while I’m here in their part of the world!

This week has been fairly chilled out so far… I went to the shopping centre on Monday as I had a day off school (so obviously treated myself to a Starbucks and cake while I was there!) Yesterday, Laura and I caught up with James, Gareth and Tom and tonight we’re all going out for food… after hip hop of course!
This weekend we have… a long weekend - YES, ANOTHER ONE! So we’ll go to Fukuoka for Laura’s birthday and hopefully find a good dance club and have a few drinks… and maybe a marathon movie session at Mindy’s once again!

My New Years “diet” is not going very well so far… I brought salad in yesterday and ate about 3 mouthfuls before deciding that it was boring. Today I’ve tried cold pasta and tomatoes which is equally disgusting! Any alternative suggestions welcome before I starve… or reach for the crisps again!


Advertisement



9th January 2008

Hi Happy New Year nice to have you back. Four months left Can't beleive it what will you do next? I am very tired been to uni it's so hard all the work is piling up. Vicky is getting fatter and like you doesn't stop eating, but she has an excuse. we are getting on really well at the moment. She needs to find somewhere to live by the end of January bit of a worry.I have lots more news but i need to go to bed.I will catch up at weekend.It was nice to hear you had a nice time back home. Take care love hel xx
9th January 2008

My christmas and New Year was good but very busy.Visiting and having visitors non stop.Our New Years party was at douglas house,a disco and he dressed as a penguin for the children.Great fun.Only 4 months left wow how quick time has flown.Lets hope your list isnt too big or you will miss out on some.Curly hair,you used to worry incase your straighteners went wrong.Have fun x
12th January 2008

Hi there, I've been looking out for your next entry - was beginning to get withdrawal symptoms. Glad you had a good time while back home. Obviously breaking you back in slowly to work!No suggestions about food - I'm having problems my self in that department ( too sweet a tooth). Happy New Year to you and make the most of the 4 months left - which I'm sure you will. Elaine.

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb