christmas countdown!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Saga
December 20th 2007
Published: December 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

i cannot believe that i have just spent the last 4 months living in Japan… it feels like only yesterday that i arrived in Fukuoka airport and wandered around the city aimlessly, trying to figure out why I had decided to move to the other side of the world!

but what a great 4 months they’ve been - i've experienced so many new things and visited so many wonderful places… i can’t wait to continue the adventure when I’m back in January!

i had a lovely postcard and phone call from shinko today, who you may remember from my August blogs! she helped me out so much when i first moved here and has wanted to get in touch with me for a while, as she was concerned that i might have left Japan by now! she couldn't believe the change in me when we spoke on the phone!

last friday, i went to the school christmas enkai in fukuoka... they tried to get me naked in the onsen again but i reassured them that i had already washed and was clean - i really must go one of these days though! it just feels too cold to be stripping off outdoors in this weather!

speaking of the cold... the school is absolutely FREEZING at the moment! they assure me that the heating is on in the teachers room but i constantly sit there with my jacket over my shoulders... most of the teachers go to their classes wearing thick, padded coats - makes me think i was soft when i used to moan to kev about how cold i was sometimes in st barts!

i also met up with mindy and laura last weekend in fukuoka for our final get together before we all go off in separate directions for xmas! we ate lots as usual and watched soppy movies... 'love actually' was a must to get us in the christmas mood, then we watched 'crash' - gripping, incredible movie and then 'the last kiss' - not so gripping! we cried buckets over every single one!

i went out for food and drinks last night with dan, laura, james and saya and then tonight, i had my English conversation class. school has been a lot of fun this week as I’ve been listening to christmas songs with the students and doing ‘fill in the blank’ worksheets with the song lyrics… i’ve been singing and dancing around the room with the teachers while they completed the sheet - obviously they were too mortified to join in with us!

i am now soooooo looking forward to chilling out in England for 2 weeks - mainly to see friends and family, but also to get my fill of pizza express, square crisps and yorkshire puddings!

merry christmas and happy new year one and all...

hope all your dreams and wishes for 2008 come true xxxxx

Advertisement



20th December 2007

Hi Heidi Its seems like you have been gone a long time to me. You have made the most of the opportunity. One more day to go! Yeh! I am really looking forward to this holiday. Loz won free tickets togo ice skating so me, Rhys, Tracey and Tasha went. It was fun but our feet hurt now. I hope you have a wonderful xmas and enjoy the food. As far as dreams come true I think your already there. Have fun with the family Love Helen xxxx
23rd December 2007

Hi there, I would imagine you're home now having a well earned rest from the hectic life you've been leading. How long a holiday have you got? Tracey, in New Zealand, was telling me the children over there have their holidays from November to end of January. That's something I wouldn't mind but the down side is I don't think they get the half terms. Anyway have a good holiday with the family and friends and I wait for the next exciting installment. Happy Christmas and I hope 2008 is kind to you.
31st December 2007

Hi hope you had a great christmas and have a happy new year.It will be good to see family and friends again.I hope the new year brings all you wish for luv x

Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb