Scuba Diving - Bolo Point


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okinawa
May 9th 2009
Published: May 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Scuba Diving - Bolo Point



I have been trying to show Edwin this dive site for about half a year now. Every time he and I have gone prior to today the waves have been extremely rough...this is one place you don't want to mess with. I've been out before where the water was a bit too rough for my preferances...getting pushed up/knocked against the coral while trying to exit is no fun.

Today the conditions looked really good so Edwin and I were pumped. In addition to the two of us, we ran into some fellow divers while getting tanks at Torii Station. They were interested in exploring the site but had never been so they asked to come along as well.

The dive went well but was rather short because the two other dive buddies we had went thru their air rather quickly. Nevertheless, we still came across a lionfish, a bunch of pink anemonefish, and a raggy scorpionfish. The Lionfish we spotted was hovering in the open water...something very unusual for this fish. Normally these fish are hiding under ledges in the coral or they are hovering hear the ocean floor. I was rather surprised to see it out and about in the open ocean.

Getting out of the water was comical. I took off my fins and walked over the rocks to get to the exit point...little, puny me had no problem getting out. Several of the other divers I was with (much bigger men than me) kept their fins on till reaching this spot. Once they began trying to take off their fins by standing on one foot, the waves started knocking them about like rag dolls. One guy even smashed his tank into his dive buddies face. Even at that, these two guys were laughing and joking the entire time.

More photos: http://picasaweb.google.com/kdupak/09May2009BoloPoint?feat=directlink


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



17th August 2009

I love scuba diving
Hi there! Scuba diving is lots of fun i have been many times in my life.. one of my favourite places to go scuba diving is Nakanoshima Beach. I think you and Edwin would love it out there! http://www.okinawa-information.com/nakanoshima-beach-shimojijima

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0656s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb