Scuba Diving - Onna Point


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okinawa
May 9th 2009
Published: May 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Scuba Diving - Onna Point



I haven't been to this dive site in about a year...the road out to it is rather rough for my four door Toyota ED. Luckily, some buddies had a vehicle capable of handling the terrain so Edwin and I tagged along in their car for this dive. It turned out to be a good spot, just like I remember it to be. Not nearly as nice as Bolo Point when it comes to visibility or fish activity, but it was still worth getting in the water.

While the guys were taking all the gear out of the car, they accidentially bumped the knob on my dive tank and a ton of pressurize air came out. Everyone else started the dive with about 3000 PSI and I started with 2300 PSI. In order to compensate for lesser air, I stayed a bit closer to the surface than the rest of the group (about 50 ft. the entire time). I also tried to keep my breathing at a steady pace. It paid off...I came out at the end of the dive with more air in reserve than the rest of the group. Edwin call me a fish because I consume so little air. After this dive, I'm thinking I should start checking myself over for gills!

This location has quite a few sea anemone and anemonefish. These fish are always fun to mess around with because they act all tough, but when you reach out towards them they dart back into the sea anemone. Haha! I got a few good shots of them seeking protection while I swam around them.

More photos: http://picasaweb.google.com/kdupak/09May2009OnnaPoint?feat=directlink

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb