I Want to Ride my Bicycle


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okinawa » Camp Kinser
May 31st 2008
Published: May 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I Want to Ride my Bicycle



Bicycle bicycle bicycle
I want to ride my bicycle bicycle bicycle
I want to ride my bicycle
I want to ride my bike
I want to ride my bicycle
I want to ride it where I like

Oh the joys of living overseas. I've decided to avoid buying a car if possible. Even though they are cheap, I live less than 5 minutes from the building I work at and getting some extra exercise couldn't hurt, right? Although I'll still want to go around the island to see things, I figured I can use public buses, walk or bicycle. After mentioning all this to my sponsor, he recommended I go to a place called Sports Depo which is about 2 miles south of where I live.

So this afternoon, right when it's hottest outside, I decided to walk to Sports Depo. Luckily there was a gentleman there who spoke fairly good English and helped get me all set up with a tire pump, water bottle, and helmet. Alright...something is going my way! I head up to the cashier to pay and what do you know...my credit card doesn't work and I don't have any yen to pay for it.

I walk back to the base, get some yen from an ATM and make the trip back to the store. In 78 degree weather with 68%!h(MISSING)umidity, I'm definitely feeling dehydrated but do I bother to grab a drink when I'm back at my BOQ room? Nope. I'm tough as nails and don't need any of that. Hydration is for weak, no disciplined individuals!

The second time I walk to Sports Depo the gate nearest the BOQ is closed so I end up having to walk north (away from where I want to go) to another gate about a mile away. Something interesting about Okinawa is that nearly every block has several vending machine on it selling drinks. Although I have yen now, the bills are too big for the vending machines. Each time I pass one I feel myself getting thirstier and thirstier. It's torturing me!!

I finally get to the store and everything worked out great. I quickly ride back to base (almost collided into cars that weren't paying attention several times) and stop at the little convenience store. I caved in and bought 3 Japanese drinks which have hardly any or no English written on them I liked the colors of the bottles so I bought them (haha). I nearly drank the entire bottle of Lipton Apple Tea while waiting at the cashier. It sure was tasty. I don't think I've ever seen in back in the US but I recommend you all take a look next time you're at the store. The other 2 cute looking bottles filled with unknown liquid...I'll let you know once I drink them.

Anyways...my bike is awesome! I'm totally going to be that geeky officer who rides a bicycle. OORAH! Would you expect anything less from me...I think not.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb