Once upon a time...


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okinawa » Camp Kinser
May 31st 2008
Published: May 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hole in the FloorHole in the FloorHole in the Floor

The toilets I encountered at Naha Airport. Reminds me of traveling in Europe!

Once upon a time...



My journey started off at the Raleigh/Durham Airport at 0740 in the morning on 28 May 2008. I got my tickets for my flight to Chicago/O'Hare and also tickets to my connecting flight in Tokyo/Narita Airport. I verified with the woman behind the ticket counter to make sure my checked luggage was going all the way to Okinawa, and I was reassured that it won't need to be rechecked in Tokyo. Awesome...that'll be once less thing to worry about for my trip (or so I think). The plane ride to Chicago was fairly short and I slept the entire time (making up for lost sleep the night before because I was so excited).

Upon arriving in Chicago, I check the monitors to find the next gate I'll need to go to. In additon, I check with an American Airlines worker. Double checking can never hurt when you have terrible luck like me. I get to my gate and grab something to eat. About 20 minutes before the plane is supposed to board, my name is called asking me to go see the people at the counter. I was quickly informed that I had been

Making my connectionMaking my connectionMaking my connection

Me minus the husband and kids...
issued an incorrect ticket and would need to "HURRY" to make my flight in another terminal.

Now picture this: Me with my small black suitcase, a backpack, food, and a drink running to catch a tram to a different terminal, running up an escalator to Japan Airlines main ticket counter to be issued a new ticket, cutting everyone in the security line, and nearly knocking everyone over (including old people) trying to make it to my new gate. The entire time a little Japanese woman from JAL was yelling at me to "Hurry hurry!" I did it in under 15 minutes and managed to board the plane just in time. It took me at least 5 minutes to unwind after the whole ordeal.

The flight to Tokyo was easy going. Luckily I didn't get jammed in between two overweigh people, have anyone soil their pants in front of me (like my flight to Egypt), or have a mentally retarded child screaming and kicking the back of my chair (also my flight to Egypt). Sleeping, watching movies, and reading was the name of the game for this flight. It totalled 11 hours and 55 minutes but I was so
Receiving Bad NewsReceiving Bad NewsReceiving Bad News

This is how I felt when I found out my luggage wasn't going to Okinawa
excited that it really didn't seem that long.

Arriving in Tokyo was an adventure. Although there were signs written in English it was still rather confusing. I must have looked somewhat lost at one point because an airport workers came up to give me directions. After going thru immigration and customs, I took a bus to terminal two (definitely no signs for that) and was issued a ticket for my flight to Okinawa. While waiting for an anouncement to board the plane, my name is called again! Oh man...what is it this time. Guess what?! My bag wasn't going straight to Okinawa, and I should have picked it up before going thru customs. Once again, GO AMERICAN AIRLINES AND JAL!!! Of the 3 people I spoke to about re-checking my bags, all gave me incorrect information! My luggage claim ticket even had the final destination as Okinawa!!! Anyways, I was giving a bunch of forms to fill out and fax in so they would pass through customs without me being present. Luckily, they will be delivered to my BOQ room on Sunday.

Once I got to Naha Airport in Okinawa my sponsor was supposed to meet me at the gate. Nobody is there! Just my luck. After waiting about 20 minutes, and having somewhat of a mini panick attack thinking I'll be stranded in the Okinawa airport, my sponsor shows up. Thank goodness!

I was driven to my BOQ room (which has been stocked with food by my sponsor), grab some cereal to eat, take a shower, and go to bed. It was around 2300 at night. Although it was an extremely long day, I still managed to wake up at 0430 the next day!

Standby for more adventures...

Advertisement



1st June 2008

Love it!
Love the references to Egypt and Europe... keep them coming!
4th June 2008

Haha that baby pic is hilarious. I'm glad you made it safe!
10th June 2008

War doesn't kill ... panic does.
Kim, Just always remember: Travel light but always carry your essentials (food, water and undies. ets.) in your small pack with you!! When it gets tough, "Battalion will fix bayonets" puts the fear into everyone else and you can feel sublime! Then relax!! Uncle G.
10th June 2008

And just think, your adventure has only just begun!

Tot: 0.219s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1128s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb