I'm in Japan


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido » Sapporo
September 5th 2006
Published: September 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My LuggageMy LuggageMy Luggage

This is the luggage I came to Japan with, it wasn't very much so that it was easier to get through security.
I have now officially arrived in Japan. I arrived on Sept. 2 at approximately 9:00pm. Naoko picked me up at the airport and we took a taxi to her home. My flights went well. I got layed over in Chicago for two hours but was still able to make my connecting flight in Japan by about twenty minutes. It was close but I made it, and so did my luggage.

I'm enjoying staying with Naoko. She's taken me to Sapporo station and we went shopping. I was able to get an electronic dictionary so that I can understand what words mean and can communicate better. Naoko is teaching me how to use the subway to get around so that I know what tickets to purchase. She also helped me exchange my money so I had money to get tickets for the subway.

On Monday she showed me the clock tower in Sapporo and another tower that reminds me of the Eifel Tower and has a big digital clock on it. However that one is under construction right now so it wasn't to thrilling. I didn't get a picture of it. I will eventually I hope.

The weather is
The Clock TowerThe Clock TowerThe Clock Tower

This is the Clock Tower with myself in front of it.
nice here. I guess it's unusually warm here right now. Naoko was surprised that she was still able to wear her tank tops outside. Today it was raining out for a little bit, but then it turned out to be a nice day. It's nice and cool which feels good to me.

Last night I was able to see Tomomi and Satoko. Tomomi came over to keep me company while Naoko had to work. Tomomi and I went to the grocery store and bought the ingredients to make Okonomiyaki (fried cabbage with meat) and Yakisoba (a type of noodle) It's quite delicious, one of my favorite foods in Japan.

Tomomi and I watched two movies (in English) Rebound and The Excorcism of Emily Rose. I loved Rebound, and the other one was interesting.

Satoko came later on after she got off of work, which was about 1:00am. Naoko didn't get off work until a lot later not sure when, we all decided to go to bed at 1:30 and not wait up for her.

I take the placement test on Sept. 8 and then meet my host family on the 9th. I guess Naoko said classes
OkonomiyakiOkonomiyakiOkonomiyaki

This is what the Okonomiyaki looks like, along with the meat.
don't actually start until Sept. 19; so I still have quite a bit of time to wait yet to start school. It'll give me time to get used to everything, which is great.

Best wishes to everyone back home in the States!!!

Joy

Joy's Japan Photos - Here's the link to my photo album. The password is the same as before. If you don't remember please contact me for it. Thank You. 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Satoko, Joy, TomomiSatoko, Joy, Tomomi
Satoko, Joy, Tomomi

The three of us hanging out at Naoko's, with Tomomi acting silly. (I just realized I don't have a picture with Naoko yet, I'll get one soon)


6th September 2006

Konichiwa!
Hey Joy! Nice blog. ;-) I'm so glad to hear that you made it to Japan safely and that you're having a wonderful time! The Okonomiyaki looks delicious; I'd say you had a very nice welcome dinner. :-) You also packed just as light as I did: one suitcase, a backpack, and a purse. It made travelling so much easier! I wish you the best on your placement tests and no need to tell you to enjoy yourself, as I can tell you already are. :-) Take care!
7th September 2006

:)
Joyous! It sounds like you are having fun... so lucky that you don't have to start school till the 19th. Give you lots of time to explore and just have fun. :) It was great talking to you last night! Keep having fun!
9th September 2006

Enjoyed
Enjoyed your pictures and loved hearing from you. Can't wait to hear frpm you again. Love, Mom and Dad
23rd September 2006

Greetings from BV
How nice to be able to hear from you thru your journal. Thanks for posting things as time allows. We are off and running here at BV. Seems like the weeks are flying by. I do miss your smiling face passing the desk but I am so happy for you that you can have this wonderful experience. Take care and enjoy your time in Japan. Jone
25th September 2006

Thank You
Thank You Jone :)
24th October 2006

Have Fun!
Joy, I was so excited to hear that you were in Japan. I am glad that you are able to expand you center of knowledge and go places that will offer experiences we don't get here in the US. Stay safe. The Lords' Blessings!

Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb