Tenth and Eleventh Weeks Nov. 4-17


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido » Sapporo
December 4th 2006
Published: December 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Chocolate Chip Banana BreadChocolate Chip Banana BreadChocolate Chip Banana Bread

Loreli, Me, Rowena, Kelsey
Tenth and Eleventh Weeks Nov. 4-17

Nov. 4: Loreli, Kelsey, Rowena and I watched a movie and made Chocolate Chip Banana Bread at my house. I think I may be the only exchange student whose host family has an actually oven to bake in. Everyone else only has a fish oven, which is only big enough to fit about two fish. That’s something to note, most of the baked goods that people eat come from one of the several bakeries around the city.

Nov. 6: Mama and her cousin and I went to the Ishiya Chocolate Factory, and Hokkaido University. At Hokkaido University we got to see the Poplars which are famous for there fall leaves. They were beautiful. My pictures don’t do justice for their bright color. We also went to Ishiya Chocolate Factory. While at the Factory I felt like I was in Germany or in Willy Wonka. The building was gorgeous! The outside courtyard was a lot of fun too with all its’ little play houses. There was even a Glockenspiel that we got to watch while we ate our piece of Chocolate Cake. The Glockenspiel wasn’t only playing music, but it also had a whole story being told through the eyes of children going through the chocolate factory. It was really neat. The Chocolate Factory was already decorated for Christmas. It was beautiful. We got to walk down the red carpeted stair case when we finished the tour. I would definitely go back.

Nov. 9: Mama and I went to Sapporo Factory, which is now a mall. It was already decorated for Christmas. Everything here is all decorated for Christmas already. I couldn’t believe all the poinsettias that they had there. It was beautiful. We also ate at an Indian Curry Restaurant. The food was delicious. The most interesting aspect of the evening was trying to figure out which language to speak. The waitress spoke her native language with the rest of the staff, and then she spoke Japanese and English to Mama and I. It became quite confusing when she switched to all English when explaining the menu to Mama. Then Mama was confused so I had to say it in Japanese, but then later she explained stuff in Japanese and Mama had to try and simplify it so that I could understand it. Then the chef came out and spoke a little
Hokkaido UniversityHokkaido UniversityHokkaido University

It was incredibly beautiful. The picture doesn't do justice for the brightness of the yellow.
English and Japanese and his native language. He asked me how the meal was (in English) and all I could think of to answer was that it was delicious, but it was in Japanese. I couldn’t think of the word delicious in English at the time. I’ve been speaking such simple English here that I’ve somewhat lost the ability to sound intelligent. I can’t believe it, didn’t think that would ever happen.

Nov. 16: Watch out for the crows if you come to Japan. Rather the Ravens, they are huge! I was walking to the bus stop this morning and a raven hit me in the back of the head causing me to drop my cell phone. Then it proceeded to follow me to the bus stop. It was a unique experience. I must have been close to its’ nest or something.

Nov. 17: Five of us went to a Modern Dance performance tonight. It was interesting, unique and fun to see. I loved the music, it was really relaxing, which isn’t what I expected for modern dance. Afterwards we went to Odori Park and saw the White Illumination, which are all the Christmas lights. It is beautiful.
Sapporo FactorySapporo FactorySapporo Factory

It is very beautiful.


I added some November pictures. Please enjoy!.
Joy's Japan Photos  (Please ask me for the password if you don't know it. Thanks)

Best Wishes Everyone

Joy



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Indian RestaurantIndian Restaurant
Indian Restaurant

My food at the Indian Restaurant.
SantaSanta
Santa

This is located outside of Sapporo Factory.
Modern DanceModern Dance
Modern Dance

All of the dancers at the performance.
Ishiya Chocolate FactoryIshiya Chocolate Factory
Ishiya Chocolate Factory

These were made out of sugar.
Ishiya Chocolate FactoryIshiya Chocolate Factory
Ishiya Chocolate Factory

I thought this chocolate guy was cute and impressive.
Ishiya Chocolate FactoryIshiya Chocolate Factory
Ishiya Chocolate Factory

The glockenspiel.
Ishiya Chocolate FactoryIshiya Chocolate Factory
Ishiya Chocolate Factory

The toy room at the factory. (Because all kids want chocolate and toys.)
Ishiya Chocolate FactoryIshiya Chocolate Factory
Ishiya Chocolate Factory

The toy room at the factory. (Because all kids want chocolate and toys.)
Ishiya Chocolate FactoryIshiya Chocolate Factory
Ishiya Chocolate Factory

The beautiful staircase, which was all ready for Christmas.
Ishiya Chocolate FactoryIshiya Chocolate Factory
Ishiya Chocolate Factory

Pinocchio and I at the Chocolate Factory.


5th December 2006

Yum...!!!
Look at all that chocolate!!! Aren't chocolate factories fun? :-) It looks like Japan gets into Christmas about as much as Austria does. Have you seen any Christkindlmarkts over there? ;-) Keep having fun!

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb