Eighth and Ninth Weeks - Where has the time gone?


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido » Sapporo
November 27th 2006
Published: November 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Soccer FieldSoccer FieldSoccer Field

This is the soccer field at the Sapporo Dome. It was still outside since Baseball wasn't completely over yet.
Eighth and Ninth Weeks - Where has the time gone?

I can’t believe that my last entry was a month ago already. It seems like I just wrote it.

Oct. 28: I went to the Sapporo Dome. Mama and I went there to see the architecture of it. It’s awesome! It’s the only one in the world that has a movable soccer field that comes in, over the baseball field. We were able to get inside the dome for free since the Nippon Ham Fighters won the Championship. (Nippon is Japanese for Japan, they are Sapporo’s baseball team. They haven’t won the championship in 40 some years.) It was free admission for the first three days after they won. There were also sales at every store in the city. I guess we picked the right day. I also got to see where Sayaka works, since she happened to be working that day at the dome. I can’t begin to explain the domes architecture, so you’ll just have to look at the pictures. It’s really neat.

Oct 29: I got to go to a ballet with Mama, Sayaka, Mami and Mama’s friend and her daughter. It was really good.
Baseball FieldBaseball FieldBaseball Field

The Baseball Field inside Sapporo Dome. Pictures of the outside of the dome are in my online photo album.
It was the highlights from Don Quixote. I loved it.

Oct. 30: I got to learn how to do Japanese Calligraphy. It was a lot of fun. I have several drawings that I did and my name that the teacher wrote. They look pretty cool. It is a lot of harder than it looks. To become a Calligrapher you have to go to several classes and take tests to be sure your calligraphy stokes are correct. I didn’t know it was so difficult.

Oct. 31: Halloween! We had so much fun. Mama found out I didn’t have a costume so she went through Sayaka’s old ballet costumes and came up with one for me to wear. So I was a “ballerina” for Halloween. It was a blast. The foreign students and some Japanese students all went to a Karaoke place. I also did a friends hair to match her costume, which was a lot of fun.

Nov. 1: Today was a day for firsts. I started learning how to play the Shakuhachi today. It is the traditional Japanese Bamboo flute. It’s quite fun, yet difficult. I also experienced my first earthquake. It was really little and was
Japanese CalligraphyJapanese CalligraphyJapanese Calligraphy

Working on my calligraphy.
very interesting to feel. An interesting fact about it was that two minutes before the one here in Hokkaido there was one in Tokyo about the same size. This caused Mama to think that we were feeling the aftershock of Tokyo’s earthquake, which would have meant Tokyo, would have probably been demolished to feel it up here. But it was two different earthquakes luckily.


NEW photos! I finally got my online photo album updated halfway about. I have all of September photos online now and labeled. I’m working on October photos now, and November should be coming soon. (hopefully before the end of November, which is this week I guess. Maybe they’ll be the first week of December. I promise they’ll be up sooner then the rest have been. Enjoy! Joy's Japan Photos  (Please ask me for the password if you don't know it. Thanks)

Best Wishes Everyone

Joy



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

HalloweenHalloween
Halloween

Myself and Kelli (whose hair I did)
HalloweenHalloween
Halloween

Justin, Kelli, Me, Kelsey, Karen, Rowena, Armon
Hokusei UniversityHokusei University
Hokusei University

The fall was beautiful here on campus.
Hokusei UniversityHokusei University
Hokusei University

The fall was beautiful here on campus.


29th November 2006

What fun!!!
It is crazy how quickly the time flies! It looks like you're making the best of it! :-) I'll be anxious to see your calligraphy skills when we're both back in the U.S. ;-)

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb