INDONESIA 18. Batuputih - Tangkoko


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Sulawesi » Tangkoko National Park
February 1st 2011
Published: February 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Macacos 23 secs
2: Tarsero 20 secs
See text in English below

7-8 diciembre 2009
Las despedidas son muchas veces tristes, y me apenó despedirme de Manon en el aeropuerto de Makassar después de compartir diez días con ellas, una buena porción de mi viaje. Pero al poco nos volvimos a saludar: habían suspendido su vuelo a Ampana hasta el día siguiente. Poco después nos volvimos a despedir porque se la llevaron a un hotel elegante para la espera.
Yo me quedé esperando a mi vuelo hacia Manado, pero seguía sin salir en pantalla. Me estaba haciendo ilusiones de que hubieran suspendido también mi vuelo hasta el día siguiente y así me llevaran a mi también a un hotel elegante, pero cuando fui a preguntar a la compañía, para mi disgusto, me dijeron que iba a salir en el día, muy tarde, pero que salía. Y así fue. Despegamos a las 23:15, seis horas más tarde de lo previsto. Tuve por compañero de asiento a un mestizo célebe papú, que venía de Kota Biak. Fue muy amable y me invitó a su casa, pero me dio apuro y decliné su invitación.

Manado, como toda la isla de Sulawesi, tiene un ambiente tranquilo y relajado. Cuando pasó Alfred Wallace, Manado era una de las ciudades más bonitas de todo el sudeste asiático, pero algún terremoto y un par de bombardeos durante y después de la segunda guerra mundial han hecho que se convierta en una ciudad no bonita. Por sus calles corren más mikrolets azules que cualquier otro tipo de vehículo, y es un lugar de paso para los turistas que van a Pulau Bunaken, meca de buceadores. Yo, como sin gafas veo bastante mal, me olvidé de todas las opurtinades de aprender a bucear.

Poco más tarde de mediodía ya tomé el camino de Manado a Bitung, en el estrecho de Lembeh. Y de Bitung, en taxi compartido, a Batuputih, la puerta del Tangkoko, una de las reservas naturales más accesibles de Indonesia.
El taxi me dejo a las puertas del losmen Mama Roos, el alojamiento en el que me hospedé. Era el único huésped.
Batuputih es un pueblo de pescadores, y se asienta junto a una playa preciosa de arena negra llena de barcas. La gran mayoría de sus habitantes no son de origen minahasa, como el resto de la población de Manado y la punta noreste de Sulawesi. Proceden de las Sangir, un rosario de islas volcánicas de selvas, playas y corales vírgenes entre Sulawesi y las Filipinas.
Por la noche conocí en el losmen a Samuel, uno de los guías de la zona. No concerté con él la visita a la reserva, pues ya me había comprometido con Antri, otro guía, antes por la tarde. Samuel me propuso un tour por el país minahasa, visitando Tomohon y algún volcán. Era un plan muy atractivo, pero no podía a mi pesar porque ya tenía el billete para volar ese día de Manado a las islas Molucas. Tengo que volver en otra ocasión.

El Tangkoko estuvo bien para un novel como yo en la observación de pájaros y animales, pues es muy fácil ver los animales que hacen famosa a la reserva. Los guías saben dónde están y te llevan directos a ellos. Por la mañana se pueden ver los cálaos y los macacos negro crestados, endémicos de esta parte de Sulawesi. Hace tiempo que científicos alemanes e indonesios los están estudiando, así que están muy acostumbrados a la presencia humana. Tanto los macacos como los cientificos ni se inmutaban ante la presencia de Antri y mía.
Y al atardecer es cuando se puede ver a la gran estrella de la reserva: el tarsero fantasma, tarsius tarsier, un tarsero que sólo se puede ver en Sulawesi. Un tarsero es un pequeño primate insectívoro, de hábitos nocturnos con pies alargados y unos ojos enormes. Son unos animales muy simpáticos, y aquí en Tangkoko son fáciles de ver. Los guías saben dónde vive una familia de cuatro tarseros, y allí es donde llevan a la gente al anochecer, justo al despertar. Cuando llegamos estábamos Antri y yo solos, y la familia de tarseros aún descansaba dentro del tronco hueco de su árbol. Nada más que empezaron a salir del árbol vino otro nutrido grupo de turistas, que empezaron a hacerles fotos con flash, igual que yo había antes. Parece que a los tarseros no les importaba, o que ya se habían acostumbrado después de muchas visitas diarias. Se movieron un poco más alrededor del árbol, se reunieron y marcharon a cazar al bosque.





2009 december 7th-8th

The goodbyes are sad most of the times, and it saddened me to say good bye to Manon after sharing with her ten days, quite an important portion of my travel. But a few moments later we said hello again: her flight to Ampana had been cancelled until next day. Soon after we said good bye again, as she was taken to a fancy hotel to rest while waiting.
I remained at the airport looking from time to time to the screens, but my flight to Manado was never shown. I was building my hopes up, thinking I was going to be sent to a fancy hotel too, but when I asked at the company desk, they told me that the flight, wasn´t cancelled: we were going to take off late, just that. And so it was. We took off at 23:15, six hours later as predicted. I had next to me in the plane a Sulawesi Papua mestizo, coming from Kota Biak. He was vey nice and invited me to his house, but, not nice of me, I declined the offer.

Manado is not a nice town, but as the rest of the island of Sulawesi, has a quiet and relaxed atmosphere. When Alfred Wallace visited Manado, it was one of the most beautiful towns in southeast Asia, but some earthwakes and a couple of bombing while and after WWII have made of it a not beautiful town. Along its streets run more blue mikrolets than any other vehicles and it´s also a obligatory stop for people heading to Bunaken island, a paradise for divers, it seems. As I can´t see well without my glasses, I pretty much forgot about the waters.

Soon after noon I took the way from Manado to Bitung, the port by the Lembeh strait, and from Bitung, a shared taxi to Batuputih, that is the door toTangkoko, one of the most accesible nature reserves in Indonesia. The taxi dropped me by Mama Roos losmen, the hostel where I stayed in. I was the only guest by the time.
Batuputih is a fisher village, next to a beautiful black beach where all the fisher boats are. Most of the inhabitants of Batuputih are not minahasa, as the rest of the people in Manado and the northeast tip of the island of Sulawesi. They come from Sangir, a group of volcanic islands with virgin tropical forest, beaches and coral reefs stretching from Sulawesi to the Philippines.
At night I met Samuel at the losmen, nice guy, one of the guides in the village. I didn´t do the visit with him, because I had met Antri, another guide who I arrange the visit with, when I arrived earlier the day. Samuel proposed me to do a tour in the Minahasa country, visiting Tomohon, and a couple of volcanoes. It was very tempting, but I had already booked my plane ticket from Manado to the Maluku for that day. I have to come back some other time.

Tangkoko was very good for me, who have never gone to nature to see birds and animals. It is very easy to see the animals that made Tangkoko famous. The guides take you straight to them. In the morning you get to see the hornbills and the Celebes crested macaque, endemic in Sulawesi. Several years ago a group of Indonesians and German scientists started studying the macaques, so they are very used to the human presence. Both, the macaques and the scientists made their normal lives before Antri and me without even turning a hair.
At dusk it´s when the "star" of the reserve can be seen: the spectral tarsier, tarsius tarsier, a kind of tarsier only found in Sulawesi. A tarsier is a small nocturnal insectivore primate with long feet and huge eyes. They are some very nice animals, and here in Tangkoko they are very easy to spot. The guides know a tree where a family of four tarsiers live, and there they take the tourists at dusk, when the tarsiers wake up. When Antri and I arrived we were alone, and still the tarsier family rested inside of the hollow trunk. When they came out of the insides of the tree and went around the trunk, a group of several tourist arrived and flashed, as I had done myself previously, the tarsiers. It seemed they didn´t care about the lights or they had already got used to after so many daily visits. They moved a little more around the tree, then gathered and went to the forest to hunt.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 28


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb