INDONESIA 19. Ternate, Hello Mister!


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » North Maluku » Ternate
March 12th 2011
Published: March 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Ternate


See text in English below

9-11 diciembre 2009

El avión que me traía desde Manado, antes de tomar de tierra dio la vuelta a dos tercios de la isla, y vi así desde la ventanilla lo que me había imaginado era la esencia de Indonesia: islas, volcanes y fuego.
La isla de Ternate es un volcán, el Gamalama, y sus habitantes dan gracias a Dios porque está dormido, aunque un penacho de humo emane siempre de su churruscado cráter.
En mi avión volaba también alguna autoridad, y al pisar tierra nos esperaban un buen puñado de gente y de periodistas. Un taxi al centro, y al no existir la pensión que buscaba, fui a otro hotel, el Indah, bastante viejo y necesitado de reformas.
Mi intención en Ternate era subir al Gamalama. Visité la oficina de turismo, pues la lonely planet marca que aquí pueden ayudar a encontrar un guía para el volcán. La gente de la oficina fue muy amable, y estuvieron contentísimos de saludarme y hablar conmigo. No están muy acostumbrados a recibir visitas de extranjeros. De hecho, mucha de la gente que me cruzaba por la calle me miraba, algun@s tímidamente me sonreían. Algunos me decían o gritaban, "Hello Mister!", y a veces les saludaba de vuelta. Es muy agradable caminar por la isla de Ternate. Si en alguna ocasión les contestaba, se quedaban callados, sonreían y sin decir palabra me decían que no sabían más inglés.
Ése, menos mal, no fue el caso de la señora que me atendió en el departamento de turismo. Me dio unos folletos, se escandalizó cuando le dije en el hotel que me hospedaba y me puso en contacto con otro señor muy agradable. Éste me llevó en moto a encontrarnos con un chico joven. Mister Ido dijo que se llamaba. Él, y si acaso otros compañeros, me llevarían al Gamalama. A cambió, tendría que estar con ellos en sus clases vespertinas de inglés. Parecía que el karma me ajustaba las cuentas. En Borobudur me negué a hablar inglés con hordas de estudiantes, y ahora en Ternate, no sólo tenía que practicar con ellos, si no también ¡darles clases!

El día siguiente pasó Mr Ido con su moto por la mañana a la hora convenida. Me dijo lo que me imaginé que me diría: "No se puede subir al volcán, está muy peligroso." Así que me fui a pasar el día a la isla de Tidore, después de que Mr Ido me dejara en la barca motora. Por la noche volví a ir a clases, y los estudiantes, algunos timidísimos, me escucharon atentos y tomaron notas.

Al tercer día salí a conocer la isla. Para eso, me montó Mr Ido en su moto y tomamos rumbo norte. La primera parada fue Batu Angus, la piedra quemada, una colada de lava de alguna erupción anterior del Gamalama. Parece ser que es un volcán muy activo. A continuación fuimos a Sulamadaha, que es la playa de Ternate. Una playa preciosa de coral, un poco sucia, aunque bastante limpia comparada con gran parte de la costa de la isla, ya que los moluqueños de Tidore y de Ternate tienen la costumbre de tirar porquería a la orilla del mar.
Comimos plátano frito.
Desde aquí, Mr Ido quería volver a Kota Ternate, porque era viernes y tenía que ir a la mezquita. Yo le dije que muy bien, que hasta la tarde entonces. Y él me dijo que no, que me tenía que acompañar, pero que tenía que ir a la mezquita, así que tenía que volver con él a Kota Ternate
TernateTernateTernate

Pulau Hiri
y después de la oración seguir con la visita de la isla. Yo insistí que se fuera que ya seguía yo solo, que me las apañaría. Y tras unos momentos de duda y confusión, Mr Ido me montó en la moto para continuar el recorrido de la isla y no ir a ninguna mezquita. En parte, sólo en parte, sentí que había hecho una buena obra.
De Sulamadaha fuimos al Tilore, un lago en el fondo de un cráter, que según dicen está infestado de cocodrilos que comen a toda aquella cosa que osa nadar en sus aguas, o que se cae a ellas.
Luego vimos los restos del fuerte portugués y el monumento del clavo. Luego yo me quedé en otro lago, Mr Ido se marchó, comí en un restaurante, que según la lonely planet es de los mejores de toda Indonesia, pero que me dejó las tripas un poco sueltas. Eso sí, las vistas desde la terraza eran maravillosas








2009 december 9th-11th

The plane that brought me from Manado, before landing flew around two thirds of the island, and thanks to that I could see what I had imagined it was the essence of Indonesia: islands, volcanoes and fire.
The island of Ternate is a volcano, the Gamalama, and their inhabitants thank God because it is asleep, though a column of smoke is always coming out from the burned crater.
In my plane there were also some authorities flying, so when we landed, a little load of people and journalists were waiting. I took a taxi to the center, and as the pension I was looking for seemed not to exist, I went to another cheap hotel, the Indah, quiet old and needing some repairings.
My intention in Ternate was to climb the Gamalama. I decided to visit the information office, for the lonely planet says that there you can get help to find guides for the climbing. The people at the office were very polite and seemed very happy to greet me and talk to me. They aren´t very used to receive foreign visits. As a matter of fact many people at the street always looked at me. Some smiled shyly. Some others said or shout: "Hello Mister!" and I usually rose my hand: It´s very nice to walk around the island of Ternate. If I answered them
Kota TernateKota TernateKota Ternate

Restaurante Jailolo --- Jailolo restaurant
back, they laughed, kept quiet, and then I understood they didn´t speak more English.
Luckily that was not the case of the lady who talked to me at the information office. She gave me some brochures and she was shocked when she knew the hotel I was staying at. She got me in touch with a very nice man who took me in his motorcycle to a boy, who called himself Mr. Ido. With some other fellows, he would take me up to the Gamalama. In return, I would have to go to their evening English classes and help them. It seems the karma took revenge on me now for avoiding to speak in English with the hordes of students at Borobudur. Now in Ternate, not only I had to speak with them in English, but also give them classes!

Next day Mr Ido picked me up at the hotel at the agreed time. He told what I had imagined he would: "We can´t go up to the volcano. It is very dangerous now." So I went to the island of Tidore instead after Mr Ido left me at the motorboat. At night I went to the classes, and the pupils, some of them very very shy, listened to me paying attention and even they took some notes!!

At the third day I went out to know the island. Mr. Ido took me in his motorcycle and we drove north. The first stop was Batu Angus, the burned rock, a lava flow from other previous eruption of the Gamalama. It seems it´s pretty active. Next we went to Sulamadaha, which is the Ternate beach, a beautiful coralline one, a little dirty but very clean in comparison with the rest of the coast of the island: they usually use the seaside as litter bin.
We ate fried banana.
From here, Mr Ido wanted to drive back to Kota Ternate, because it was friday and he had to go to the prayers at the mosque. I told him that that was nice, that we would meet in the evening. He told me that not, I had to go with him to Kota Ternate, and after the prayer, he would take me again on his motorcycle and drive me along the rest of the island. I insisted and repeated him that I would be fine alone. After some moments of confusion he took me on the motorcycle and continued to drive around the island without going to any mosque at all. I felt, partly, that I had done a good job.
From Sulamadaha we went to Tilore, a lake at the bottom of a crater, which is infested with crocodiles that eat all living being falling or swimming in the their waters.
Then we went to the remainders of the portuguese fort and the clove monument. After, I stopped in another lake and Mr Ido went. I had lunch at a restaurant recommended by the lonely planet as one of the best in Indonesia, but it left my bowels a little loose. However, the views from the terrace were awesome.


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 28


Advertisement

TernateTernate
Ternate

Monumento al clavo --- Clove monument
TernateTernate
Ternate

Adios Portugal! --- Farewell Portugal!
TernateTernate
Ternate

Fuerte portugués --- Portuguese fort


12th February 2015

Hello Mister lol
Hello Mister I am glad that you made time to visit Ternate and and the surrounding areas and yes, you are right, there's only a tiny minority of the people living in North Maluku who can speak English, perhaps only the lucky ones. I even saw some older ladies on the streets who would call "mister" for every tourist they meet down the streets, even the female ones lol. Well, welcome to the real and genuine Ternate. Hope you did enjoy the visit. By the way, I know Dodi (Idod) very well. He is one of my close friends :)

Tot: 0.319s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 22; qc: 103; dbt: 0.1677s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb