change of plans


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Lombok
December 7th 2007
Published: December 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I've changed the trip to a mountain biking/surfing trip. I'm in the capital of Lombok (Mataram pop. 130,000) the last "city" I'll come across so I'm taking advantage of it before I head further east...further back in time. Arriving in Lombok was already a change. Goats at the harbor. Horse drawn carriages on the road.

Riding the bike from Kuta, Bali to Padangbai (harbor) took only 3 hours! It wasn't very pleasant, too many motorcycles and trucks. Once I got to Lombok the sounds of the many insects covered the little traffic noise! I'm really looking forward to getting on the more rural roads.

As I approached the harbor on Bali I stopped by a temple (Hindu) when I heard the gamelan. I went down to the black sand beach to listen and watch the people making offerings to the sea ... as far as I could understand. Very memorable.

Lombok's history is intertwined with that of Bali so there are still Balinese-like hindu temples but the mosques are much more prevalent. It reminded me of Batu Keras in West Java to be awoken a 4:30am by the prayer call.

Tomorrow I'll hopefully finish a little shopping and finalize booking my next stupid visa run and the day after leave early in the morning to beat the heat and head for the southern coast.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb