Air Goleng


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Lombok
December 21st 2007
Published: December 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

  I reached Kuta ... easy. The waves at Kuta itself are pretty lame but there is a good choice of spots both to the east and to the west. Air Goleng is a little sea weed farming village with a quality right and left hand reef break out front. It's very near Kuta ... by motorbike which is how most traveling surfers get about. By mountain bike I packed lunch and decided to make a day trip of it surfing early morning and late evening when conditions would be best.  So while all the other surfers left I hung out with the locals and ate my noodles. Tought a little english to the eager kids. And then started to seriously consider the locals offer to stay there for free and teach the kids english. That was 8 nights ago.   At first the surf was great...I had some of my best sessions there. Four days ago it got stormy and small. No good for surfing.   I've come back to Kuta to stock up on rice and bananas and have learned that it's supposed to be small for the next week. I'm already pretty much decided that I'll be leaving tomorrow or the day after for Sumbawa. I like Air Goleng and it's friendly people but I can only have the same conversation for so many days. The line of questioning usually goes something like this "Where are you from?  Where are you staying? How long have you been here? Do you like it hear?" then the inevitable "Are you married? How old are you? Why aren't you married yet? Do you want to marry my daughter? She's very beautiful."  It's been a great experience and I'd do it again but it's getting a little tiring and lonely, not being able to have more meaningful conversations and when the surf is small not many outsiders come through town.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb