Alone


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Kalimantan » Palangkaraya
March 21st 2013
Published: March 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

BanjarmasinBanjarmasinBanjarmasin

Yasir's fathers, Ardimansyah's, house
I travel alone, at least, most of the time I do. It isn’t that I especially want to travel on my own, but it is just a fact that the vast majority of the people on this planet do not have the time or the money to do so. If they have the money, they don’t have the time, if they have the time, they don’t have the money. In the west, it is a different situation, there it, in the end, comes down to choice and most folks choose differently than I do. I chose to focus entirely on seeing as much of this great big world as possible, and with it eschewed the comfortable certainties of life: the job, the pension, the white picket fence with dog and family, the mortgage, the stress, the responsibilities.

But as I said, most decide to stay with what they know best and that is fair enough. It, however, does mean that whenever I go gallivanting, I do not have the luxury of the company of friends. They have families, they have nice jobs, they, in short, have other priorities and, I might add, they are quite happy with their lives. So,
BanjarmasinBanjarmasinBanjarmasin

My room in my temporary home
if I want to explore all the fascinating countries and cultures that exist, I have to do it by myself, and that is, as anybody who reads my blogs knows, exactly what I have been doing and continue to do.

This might sound lonely to you, and, I admit, sometimes it is. Yes, there are times that I crave the company of others, where I am tired of being stared at because I am the only white person around, where I just want to meet another traveller and have a normal conversation. But, on the whole, when backpacking one is seldom really alone. If it isn’t another globetrotter, it will be the staring local who will start a conversation with you.

I have been in Kalimantan for over a month now, and I have met exactly ten other foreigners here, all of them on Derawan Island. This means that after the first week, I haven’t met or seen another ‘bule’ which is the Indonesian term for white person (it literarily means albino). Now I must confess, I was looking forward to coming here, exactly for that reason. I was slightly exhausted of being on the pancake trail. I
BanjarmasinBanjarmasinBanjarmasin

Yasir and I, for dinner at the best restaurant in town for local Banjar food
have been on it for the last couple of years, because that is what mainland S.E. Asia is, for all sense and purposes. Sure you can get away from it for a while, but never for long, there are just too many of us traipsing around that part of Asia. It was fun while it lasted, but I was looking forward to, let’s say, something slightly more adventurous.

And it is adventurous and it is hard, and I am not meeting other foreigners, and nobody speaks English over here, so you would think I should be ecstatic about it all. This is, after all, what I wanted right? Ah, but here comes the schizophrenic part, when I told you I didn’t want to meet any other tourists, I didn’t mean nobody at all! What I was hoping for was a drop in the numbers, not to zero, but to maybe one or two a week or so. Just enough to meet somebody now and again to swap tales and perhaps share some information, or a meal, or even an adventure with. I guess one should always be careful what one wishes for.

I am making it sound rather
BanjarmasinBanjarmasinBanjarmasin

Floating market, food stall
dismal, am I not? And that isn’t the case. While I might not have met any other backpackers, this has been amply compensated for by the generosity and hospitality of random Indonesians. And so I shall introduce you to Yasir and his immediate family. His wife Desi, his father Ardimansyah and mother Wahdah. There are more, his cousins, and uncles and aunts, and grandmothers and grandfathers, but I don’t have their names and even if I did, this blog would become rather Biblical if I would have to mention every last one of them. I did, however, meet all of them on the bus from Balikpapan to Banjarmasin. They were returning home from a wedding, and the whole bus belonged to the same family. Before long, questions were being thrown at the sole ‘bule’ on the bus, ‘Where are you from? What is your name? How old are you? Are you married? Why are you here? What is your job? Why are you travelling alone? How long have you been here? What do you think of our country?’ and many, many more inquiries.

This is where Yasir enters the picture, because he was the one who spoke English the
BanjarmasinBanjarmasinBanjarmasin

Buying and selling
best and he was eager to have somebody to practice his language skills on. While I was able to answer all that they asked of me in their language, I was quite happy to have Yasir around and have him translate, because it was just so much easier. Therefore it was a mutual beneficial arrangement. Yasir got to practice his English, I could give my weary brain a rest.

Fast forward a bit and I found myself in Banjarmasin in the house of Yasir’s father. Somewhere along the line I was invited to stay with them. Now, when I say I was in his house, I mean, I had the whole house to myself. Ardimansyah is a property developer and has several houses, so he put me up in one of his. Well, actually he put me up in the best and the biggest one.

For the next couple of days I got the royal treatment. Yasir took me around in either his car or on his motorcycle, he took me out for dinner, lunch, breakfast, to the museum, to the floating market, to the city, really just everywhere. Not to be outdone, his father took me for
BanjarmasinBanjarmasinBanjarmasin

Early morning
lunch as well and on a little sightseeing trip of his own. I was prohibited from paying for anything, I was their guest and any attempt I made was discarded. And we talked, and we talked, and I get to know his family and they were so nice and always smiling and laughing and feeding me (I must have looked like I was starving).

These were good days, and while I was there I wasn’t alone. And I thought to myself, ‘Would this have happened if I wasn’t travelling on my own?’ I can’t answer that question of course, but I think, on the whole, there is a much bigger chance of something like this occurring when you are by yourself. People are more prone to inviting a solo traveller, on top of that you tend to be more open when it is just you.

That was Banjarmasin, and that was an example of the advantages of travelling alone. But after that it was back to reality. And the reality was… that I was on my own again. To Palanka Raya, to the stares and the non-existent English. Back to having to cope in Indonesian with getting to destinations which have so little information in my guidebook that it renders it near to useless. Trying to figure it out on my own, is there even public transport going that way, and if so, from where? Do the people in my hotel in Palanka Raya know? And that is one of the great disadvantages of being by oneself, there is nobody else to consult with or to help out. I have to rely on my own wits, and my own wits somehow get me there most of the time.

So, once again I get to where I want to get, to Tewah and Tumbang Malahoi, up the Kahayan River. According to the little piece of unusable information the Lonely Planet gives on this, it is a journey on which ‘even confirmed independent travelers may want professional help.’ That is a load of crap, it isn’t hard to get to these places, whoever wrote it up clearly never tried. I know this for sure, because the one line on Tewah is completely wrong, there is supposed to be a beautifully carved longhouse there. Tewah doesn’t have a longhouse! Luckily Tumbang Malahoi does, however I discovered that there was a
BanjarmasinBanjarmasinBanjarmasin

Fruit and veggies
cheaper, shorter, more comfortable and easier way to get there than via Tewah, which is the second thing Lonely Planet got wrong. Tumbang Malahoi is not up the river from Tewah, in fact it is not even on the same river, unlike their map indicates and their vague description implies.

I would never have gone to Tewah had I known this beforehand, but that is what you get when you go beyond guidebooks and need to figure it out by yourself in a language you only half grasp. Part and parcel of the adventure.

The positive bit is that I had an interesting motorcycle journey on a muddy logging road through the jungle to get from Tewah to Tumbang Malahoi, so maybe I should thank Lonely Planet for misdirecting me. Getting back to Palanka Raya from Tumbang Malahoi also was interesting, with the shared taxi getting stuck in knee deep sludge at one point.

And while I was out there, on these dismal dirt roads in the jungle I felt like this was it. This was why I travelled, for exactly that experience. To get out there, to get dirty and gritty, to explore, to get to
BanjarmasinBanjarmasinBanjarmasin

Colourful
places that are not easy to get to, where nobody speaks my language and white folks are far and few between.

For too long now have I been on the well-trodden path, and it left me with a vaguely unsatisfying feeling which I couldn’t place until now. I have discovered I am an off-road vehicle kind of guy. Put me on the tarmac and I feel under-utilized, but get me into the wild and I feel alive.

However my time is up here, my finances drained, the engine slightly overheated and the petrol gauge is in the red. I need to go home to patch myself up, fill up the tank, and while I am at it, get some more money.

I would like to end this here blog with a big thank you to Yasir and his family for taking a weary stranger into their house and making him feel at home. But now it is time to go where the heart lies…


Additional photos below
Photos: 52, Displayed: 29


Advertisement

BanjarmasinBanjarmasin
Banjarmasin

The guys
BanjarmasinBanjarmasin
Banjarmasin

More of the market
BanjarmasinBanjarmasin
Banjarmasin

That's a lot of rambutans!
BanjarmasinBanjarmasin
Banjarmasin

Another vendor
BanjarmasinBanjarmasin
Banjarmasin

Waiting on some logs
BanjarmasinBanjarmasin
Banjarmasin

My company for the market, Yasir and his wife Desi (in the front), and grandmothers and mother.
BanjarmasinBanjarmasin
Banjarmasin

Floating past sawmills
BanjarmasinBanjarmasin
Banjarmasin

Coal barge
BanjarmasinBanjarmasin
Banjarmasin

Having some coffee and tea with a few snacks
BanjarmasinBanjarmasin
Banjarmasin

Breakfast, Indonesian style. Rice porridge, with prawn crackers.
BanjarmasinBanjarmasin
Banjarmasin

Lunch courtesy of Ardimansyah


21st March 2013

Lucky you are a man
Hi Ralfie, I agree that if you travel on your own it can be lonely but like you say the upside is you meet more people, as you are more approachable on your own and more open to it as well. I do have to say that as a woman as much as I would have liked to accept invitations by locals I never really did, I was always scared of what could happen being on my own. I do think that as a man you don't have to be as cautious but then again maybe I overdid it. When I read about all the nice locals you met and the interesting conversations you had with them, I feel that I missed out on a integral part of the whole travelling experience. Lots of love, Linn
21st March 2013

Yep, you are right.
I would be more cautious if I was a woman too, so no, I don't think you were too cautious. Even as a man I don't accept every invitation, and maybe I miss out on a load of other good experiences because of it. But this was a family, I tend to trust families more. Love back :)
21st March 2013

Couldn't have said it better myself
Superb articulation of the joys of solo travel, especially "...I think, on the whole, there is a much bigger chance of something like this [invitation to someone's home] occurring when you are by yourself. People are more prone to inviting a solo traveller, on top of that you tend to be more open when it is just you." It never gets lonely for me nowadays (but did when I was younger) as there is always plenty to keep me occupied with sorting through photographs or blogging. The biggest issue for me is having someone to look after my possessions when I need to race to the bathroom, or do some quick shopping or withdraw cash at an ATM instead of lugging all my gear with me. Hope you can replenish your funds and energy and hit the road again sooner rather than later.
21st March 2013

I know what you mean :)
I often have the same problem, so I end up on the toilet with my small backpack which holds all the important stuff. It can be quite difficult at times, it is not as light and small as I would like, so going to a tiny squat toilet with it is almost an art in itself ;)
21st March 2013

ALONE BUT...
I feel the melancholy in your words...but not really. The subject is melancholic but the experiences are not. Alone is a state of mind...alone in the physical is not necessarily in the spirit. You Ralf don't strike me as lonely...nah...you strike me as enthused at your lot...doing what others dream to do...and you do the doing. And if you perchance felt a bit lonely...you always have Travelblog...a massive family in the ether. Ralf alone...maybe...lonely...no way. Am I right?
21st March 2013

Right you are
At least, not here in any case, I have had a great time by myself. And as a whole I seldom feel really lonely. Strangely enough I often feel more lonely when I am in a backpacker hub surrounded by other backpackers.
21st March 2013

where are you now dude?
what's up dude?, i miss u buddy, be quite after you gone, my family always ask about you. i hope you well, and like you said " i keep my finger cross for you " ;)
21st March 2013

Back in Balikpapan
Ah Yasir, so nice of you to comment on my blog. I had such a good time with you and your family, I really missed them when I was on my own again. Give them my warmest regards and you may tell them I shall return (possibly sometime in September or so).
21st March 2013

I found your description of Yasir and his family's generosity heartwarming and, most of all, I was struck by your description of your motorcycle journey. Sometimes, it feels like the well-trodden, mapped or book-guided paths lead to certain expectations on arrival, but the irony is that the unexpected moment -- even stuck knee-deep in mud -- becomes the treasured memory. I think those rare moments are the most liberating and thrilling parts of travel even if they may come across as strange or mundane to others. Thanks so much for sharing this, it's one of my favorite blogs I've read this month.
22nd March 2013

Wow, that was such a nice comment.
Yeah, it is hardly ever the sights that are the sticking points in my life, it is the people, and the journeys, the weird things and the good things, being stuck in mud, or climbing up mountains in my flip-flops, the conversations and most of all the generosity and hospitality of the people I meet (both locals and, I might add, other travellers). Those are the treasured memories.
24th March 2013

Wonderful blog
I think the real blessing is you having the ability to choose between a life of world travel or the white picket fence. Both are treasures.
24th March 2013

Yep, you said it.
Thanks, and yeah, you are right both are sides are good, though for me, of course, the travel bit is the best ;)
28th June 2013

travelling almost without money
i already met couple people who are able to travel constantly i would say and can manage that for ...300-1000 Eur per year..Is it possible? i really would like to try, but not by myself. also, they stay in some place for few months, even work and that i found even much better way to get know and feel of the place than just travel through it. My point, which i really would like to brake in my mind and introduce to others of no need that much funds to travel, just right frame of mind, right :)?
2nd July 2013

Everything is possible
But the less money you have the more difficult it gets. Yes, I am sure it is possible to travel for a year with 300/1000 euros, though as you said, it would require settling down somewhere for a while and earning some money. Or going to some very cheap country and doing absolutely nothing, just eating and sleeping. I personally have different budgets for different countries, and it depends a little on what I want to do exactly. I try to minimise my costs and I think I am reasonably good at getting the most out of my trips with what I have. But I would not try and travel on 300 euros a year or even 1000 euros, because it gets very exhausting. In India my budget was about 200 euros a month, for which I could do everything, travel, eat, sleep in my own room with my own bathroom, see the sights, and even catch a flight every now and again. It just required me to travel more slow (the slower you travel the lower your budget). In Indonesia my budget is more like 450 euros a month, because it is just more expensive and also because I want to do such things as diving, which naturally push up the budget. The above budgets are realistic, if you know the ropes and still want to do the same as others, but on the cheap.
6th October 2013

Question about Clinical Trials and Travel
Hi Ralf, How do you do? I am big fan of your travel and blogs. Can't wait to read your next one. I read a comment by you saying you will start your next sojourn this September. So when can I expect to read about your next adventure? I am commenting to ask you about the clinical trails you undergo to fund your travels. I am looking at that as option as well. Can you tell me how risky are the tests that you choose to take. For example do you take under trial medicines that can affect your heart or other important parts? Or do you go for clinical trials less risky such as maybe a medicine for skin or something. Do you have to undergo processes such as incisions etc. for your trials ? Also, I want to know if you need a visa to be able to participate in clinical trials. I am from Asia. Thank you Big Fan
10th October 2013

Clinical trials
A trial is as risky as you want it to be. I can only speak about trials in developed countries, I wouldn't be surprised if the riskier trials are conducted in under developed countries where the regulations and laws are less stringent and enforcement more lax. For myself, I never take part in a first-on-human trial, which means that I won't be in the first group testing a drug. Drugs are typically in a clinical trial phase for 2 years, and are tested on thousands of volunteers. Why be the first to test a new drug if you can be number hundred or so? You don't get paid more, and even if I did, I still wouldn't do it. Second, know what you are doing. That doesn't mean doing extensive research on your drug, but just reading up on the information that is provided when you go to a screening. Clinics will tell you what they are testing, what for, what the side effects were on previous volunteers, on animals, at what dosage etc. etc. Read the information so you know what you are taking, and make an informed decision based on that information. Remember that you get paid per day you are in the clinic and not on what the drug is about, what the side effects might be, or what they might or might not need to do to you on the trial. Be patient, trials come and go, eventually you will find one that you are comfortable doing and pays the right amount. Trials generally don't involve incisions, I have never heard of a trial in which that was necessary. Trials do involve taking a lot of blood from the volunteers, so you can't have a problem with needles. Depending on the trial, you might also have a lot of ECG's, vitals etc. etc. taken. All new drugs can have adverse effect they don't know about, keep that in mind. This is why I try to reduce the risk by looking at the side effects on previous volunteers. If the side effects are nothing special (nausea, fatigue, dizziness), I will go for it. To participate in trials you only need a passport. You might need a visa to enter the country, that I don't know, but that has nothing to do with the trial. Participating in trials is not considered work, so you are not required to have a work permit. It is voluntary after all! Hope this helps.
25th June 2016

Tewah and longhouses
Hi - interesting post. You're right that there is no betang (longhouse) in the village of Tewah. But if you hadn't stopped there, but continued further up the Kahayan River you would have come across two of the better-known longhouses of Central Kalimantan - at Tumbank Korik and Tumbang Anoi. But the roads are not as good as the ones you travelled on! And you actually need to take a klotok canoe to get to Korik - but it's well worth the journey and the expense... There are a number of English-speaking people (both Indonesian and westerners) living in and around Palangkaraya (I'm one of them...) It's not nearly as isolated as you make out! But it IS extraordinary - particularly when you can get to experience the living Dayak culture in the up-river villages. Check my blog at www.jokar.com.au/blog for stories and photos (including about the longhouses at Anoi, Korik and Malahoi)
25th June 2016

Thanks for the comment
I don't think I made it out to be particularly difficult to get to. There is just little to no information on it, and the Lonely Planet makes it out be nearly impossible to get to. I found out for myself that it was in fact rather easy to get to Teweh, and just as easy to get to Malahoi, as I think I indicated in my blog. Thanks for the info on Anoi and Korik, it can be handy for future travellers in that direction.

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 14; qc: 39; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb