4 days in Balikpapan


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Kalimantan » Balikpapan
March 22nd 2006
Published: March 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Its been a while since I was able to update but I finally found an Internet cafe or maybe Internet Online game-joint would be more appropriate because thats what most of the customers here are doing. But I have been offered tea to drink and once been informed that smoking was allowed here 😊

After landing at the Balikpapan airport, we were picked up by a minibuss and driven to the terminal. Getting Visa was just simply standing at the right counter, handing over the passport and $25 for the 30 days as Balikpapan is one of the entry points to Indonesia. Then it was time to get my luggage, which I located immediately because there was only two suitcases there but was nevertheless helped by a man (he had probably been assigned to making sure I made it through the airport without too much hassle in exchange for a tip) who insisted to see my luggage checkin receipt and after a little inspecting he happily announced that I had indeed found my own suitcase.

Coming outside the airport was a chaos of people, luggages and cars. My personal helper went on inquiring about my hotel and where I wanted to go, and when I informed him that I didnt have any hotel and didnt want any taxi, he seemed confused and wasnt sure on how to handle the situatiuon. But then Cecilia showed up, the helper was sent away and we got a taxi to her house.

On Saturday, I bought myself an Indonesian phone subscription and a refill phonecredit card. I will still be checking my Norwegian number from time to time, send me a message there if you want and dont already have my Indonesian phonenumber.

As you would expect from having tropical climate, nights are hot and days are extremely hot. Day temperatures are somewhere around 35 degrees Celcius and its still between the wet and dry season, which means it can rain for a few minutes in the day which helps make it cooler.

Indonesians in my experience are a very warm and welcoming people, and overnight I have also become new object of staring. I suspect its because of my short spiky hair, blue eyes and "arctic" suntan. *g* Navigating the city turns out to be a major task, I have no trouble at all getting horribly lost. The hardest part is finding reference points, but Im sure that with some experience I'll walk the streets like the best of them 😊

Speaking of streets, I just want to mention the traffic. Like most island people in the world, the Indonesians like driving on the wrong (i.e the left) side of the street, but after driving around with a pulse of several hundred for a few days I'm getting used to it. Compared to the somewhat orderly and structured driving of Norway, Indonesia is pure mayhem. They like honking the horn at each other, flashing the emergency turnlights in crossings mean your going straight forward. Driving a car also means you have to be extra careful because you are surrounded by motorbikes at every angle who squeese into tight spaces. The basic rule of driving seems to be: "Anything goes, just dont have an accident" Theres no speed real limits, only a few special places are marked with speed limit signs. You can go as fast or slow as you want, and it doesnt matter if you choose the left, right or even both road lanes. Just be aware that if people can find even the tiniest spaces where they can squeese past you, they will do just that.

The food is good, although sometimes maybe just a little too spicy for me. Rice and chicken seems to be the main ingredients, but I haven't been here long enough to be any expert in Indonesian cuisine yet 😊

I'm sorry I could not post any pictures now, I will download them from my camera and bring my flashdisk with me to the internet cafe put them on my flashdisk to bring with me and upload.

Until next time, daach 😉


Advertisement



22nd March 2006

Go knall!!
Hehehe, seems like you are adjusting just fine to Indonesian customs :D Have you been in some confusing situations? Funny stories are all very much apprechiated :D Tell me! You simply MUST tell me :D Hehe, anyways, have fun and behave, I'll be thinking about you, and keep updating your blog! I am 'nyskjerrig' you know :D
23rd March 2006

Great adventure!
Glad you arrived along with your luggage. That's not always the case! You mention driving - are YOU driving or are you a passenger? Can't wait to see pictures! Have fun!

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb