clubs, ancient sites and robbers


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Yogyakarta
June 10th 2008
Published: June 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

ooh gosh i have a lot to get through in a very short amount of time.
umm wednesday last week i visited this amazing islamic uni. ok ill try think of the most interesting things:
ok well you know the general dude from last blog? seems i left quite an impression with him... on thurs last week we were outside his headquarters when he came out with all these guards with guns and serious looking men marching but he stopped to wave at me from across the yard. oh the reporters were so jealous because apparently they see him everyday and he never recognises them. then his funny reporter called tutus took me to the beach, black sand and deserted with huge waves.
jeje takes me to the most amazing places for dinner. this one resturant had 3 levels of bamboo and we sat on the top overlooking rice fields, candles everywhere. after that we went to bintang bar for drinks with the others. lots of foreigners but i didnt really speak to them because they looked boring and the party was at my table with all the team. it was quite the messy and I DRANK BEER and quite enjoyed it. OH YEAH and i met this local yogya girl who has been living in MORNINGTON for the past month it was crazy. for her uni.
on saturday i just chilled. got up very late and attempted washnig but the water just keeps turning off in my kos. so i think ill get my laungry done for 20c instead. yogya is the cheapest city in indo because its a student city. ive only spent like $90 since i was here and most of that was on a phone.
ive been hanging out a lot with local friends of jeje and didiks because they live near me. theyre funny - they just drink all the time, dont ever go to work. they're only routine is to play soccor in the afternoon and pray.
SUNDAY - VERY BIG DAY.
we got to borobudur at 9 oclock. the heat was incredible and it was very crowded. ill put some photos up. i was amazed at the structure - you could climb all over it and it was so huge. the funniest part was when one man asked if he could have his photo with me, i obliged and then was knocked over by like 50 screaming kids, touching my hair and making peace signs with their hands. turns out he was there teacher. the photos are pretty funny but then that opened the flood gates and everyone wanted their photo with me until i escaped 20 mins later. it was so intense i went and hid for a while. all of the kids wanted to shake my hand afterwards so i spent another 20 mins shaking everyones hand while they all said "nice doing business with you ms"
after that we visited jejes parents house in maglang. they were so cute - they had made snacks and juice for us and ushered me sold me to sit on the good couch while they tried to speak english with me, before jeje told them i can speak bahasa. jejes brother married an australian girl so they have aus paraphenailia everywhere - and they showed me the wedding dvd. they're very proud and have photos everywhere. jeje showed me the family burial site - they look over it from the balcony! it reminds them of their ansestory daily.
we then went to the magleng pool. it dawned on me that my bright red bikinis probably wouldnt have gone down so well but i assumed id just cover up until i reached the water. turns out allah had other plans though! i felt all eyes on me as i walked from the changeroom to the pool. all women sat on the edge watching, while the guys swam in boardshorts. so i decided not to offend anyone and just sit by the edge and dangle my feet in.
we then went to mt merapi - biggest mountian in jawa. i ordered a chai but this horrid mixture of ginger came out that burnt my throat. the visability wasnt great but i still got some pics. then home
i ate at a western place by myself because the boys had another appointment. i was thinking about how safe i felt on the streets of yogya..
so heres the story:

i was walking home from dinner with three ltrs of water id just bought, my camera with all my photots from the day and only rp15000 (less than $2) in my wallet. it was dark and the street was empty for once, but i was only 2 mins from my kos and thinking about the amazing day id just had.. just past my friend midi's house (the rasta) i felt by bag being grabbed as a motobike sped up really close to me. i wasnt even thinking but just held onto my bag tightly and was swept off my feet and dragged on the road for 1-2 mts until the guy on the bike let go and sped off. it all happened so fast and no one saw it. i called tustry as i got up from the road, limped home. i have cuts and grases on both legs, my feet, one elbow, my other arm, and back. i have bruises everwhere but its lucky i didnt do more damage. the whole team were at my kos within 5 mins and played doctors and nurses.
so that was a minor negative but i kept my bag so im very happy! i wouldve hated to lose my camera with all the photos. i sort of feel a bit nervous wakling down the street but jeje insists on driving me everywhere so its all good.
when i tell the locals here they look so sad and worried for me. they tell me they're sorry, and say they'll put me in they're prayers. they are so cute.

if your still reading this you must truely love me. i should go, going to dinner in a second.
i hope all is well. im still having an amazing time and what happened on sunday was just a learning curve.

love you all.
ill try write less next time!
xx








Advertisement



10th June 2008

Photos?
Good to hear you're OK Al we were worried, write more not less it's all good!!! But where's the photo's? We want temples and injuries!!
11th June 2008

love love love
i love you Al and im so proud of you! you have truely inspired me x x x x x
11th June 2008

yo bitch
it happened just after speaking to you george! after hearing about all your goss. so i got up from the rd and was like EVERYTHING WAS SO NORMAL A FEW MINS AGO!! fff xx
11th June 2008

its happening!
hey mal, im trying to put some photos up now but its so goddamn slow!!! i couldnt the other night because it was dark as i finished the blog and wanted to get home before it was too late! i get very anxious walking home now... :(
12th June 2008

OH GOODNESS.
you poor poor thing! thats horrible to have happened to you only whilst you have been there such a short time.. just remember that it happens in melbourne all the time and we dont think about it here, so dont let it burden you in any way. it sounds like your having such an amazing time.. im slightly jealous. your stories entertain my boring and work orientated life.. and of corse i love you! not only because you post good travel blogs.. but im sure i can think of other reasons too. love you xx

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb