'Batik' class... part 1


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Malang
November 17th 2009
Published: November 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

clay mixtureclay mixtureclay mixture

used to paint the fabric
So, anybody already know what 'Batik' is?

well, Batik is a name for any kind of fabric material which drew with some traditional pattern and properly rubber-ink in Indonesia.
It can be found on clothes pattern, bag with fabric material, and so on..
Usually it used natural colour as the colour base..
but the interesting is.... the pattern!
Each region have different kinds of pattern compared with their customs and heritages..
all pattern must been influenced with nature and environments near some villages..

Since 'Batik' commonly produced by traditional people, and when it comes over Indonesia that have lot of customs and spreaded among those lot of islands, each region would named their traditional pattern with their name to divide those kinds of 'Batik'..

Now about the process of making 'Batik' pattern..
first, since I never made or even try to draw any 'Batik' pattern, I was lead to draw some simple and big patterns on white fabric..
So I just drew it by pencil (not too bold) :P
then I go to studio room where the staffs already prepared some special ink which used only for making 'Batik' pattern..
these inks looks like kid's rubber-toy for me.. it almost like brown clay (but it's only used for Batik) which simmered in low flame..
after the clay already melted, I took my 'canting' (traditional pen for drawing Batik pattern with clay misture) and pour in some clay mixtures and blow it so it won't too hot and messed my pattern..after I think it's warn enough, I started paint my pattern :D

but of course I do lot of mess on my fabric!! 😞

after being enough patience to paint those patterns (lucky me I drew some big patterns, so I won't be sweating too much :P ), I made it sure those mixture absorbed on the fabric.. whenever I found some spots still not absorbed yet, I painted it again on its back and so on..

srett... srett.. srett...

then I'm finish!!

now I put my painted-'BATIK'-fabric on cool places and let it dry to enter the next stage on our next class........

(to be continued)


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0809s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb