Batur Volcano; Padangbai


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Padangbai
October 12th 2008
Published: October 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm in Padangbai now, which is a port to Lombok island. I would like to go to Gili Islands, which are right next to Lombok. It is renowned over here, very popular among the backpackers, all the people talk also about the magic mushrooms that you can get there.
There is no police on those island, it seems that the government turns blind eye over it. But I go there for snorkelling of course !
I did snorkelling in Lovina. You have to hire a boat, a fisherman, to take you some 1+ km offshore to the coral reef. Beautiful. It was the very first time I did snorkelling. It is as if you were in a big aquarium full with tropical fishes - and they are all around you.
Getting off from the boat on the beach, I was approached by woman - selling fruits, t-shirts ... So right after snorkelling I enjoyed pineapple, mango, ... drunk coco-nut milk with a straw etc (and they ripped me off, I realized later 😊 . The woman selling fruits was greeting me everytime from the distance: "Roman ! Hi !"

In one of the evenings I went to a pub, local band was playing big hits ..... Sting, Scorpions, Oasis ... they were really good. Of course, the highlight was Guns'n'Roses - Sweet child o'mine 😊

In one of the corners, on the sofa, there was a drunk "white" woman, weary face, sitting with local macho. Ah, so this is what the LonelyPlanet books is talking about: "Woman Travellers - ...there are local gigolos,... renowned for their flattery (and thirst) for you cash". Later she was pissed already, they left together, and the mach guy did with me "give me five" 😊)) And this was not the only occurance.
Also there were 3 man - I think germans - in their 60s I guess.... in company with local women. Sexy dressed.
Oh, love is in the air ..... 😊)

Then I moved to Batur. This village is close to Volcano Batur 😊 1717 masl.
In the hotel they were telling us that it is not possible to go and climb it on our own, only with organized trip, usually the price is $50 , but only now $30 USD. And the guide book says the guides, if you meet them out there and you are on your own, will most likely harass you etc. They simply want to keep monopoly and earn money.
I made it, was there alone, because the tours go there usually for sunrise. I was there for sunset. At the top there is still steam coming out of the earth. At first I though that someone lit the grass.
I was descending the hill and it was becoming dark already. I passed by a shelter in almost pitch black, when a local elderly woman came out to greet me. She was topless, like from african documentaries. She said: "Sir, any drink?" and showed me to go inside. Who would resist. It was dark, in the middle of nowhere (ok, some 12km from my hotel). I resisted 😊)
After some other 2km I met some people on motorbikes, wanted to give a me a lift for 50 000 rph (rip off), I walked away (a practice I have learned when negotiating), soon the guy was chasing me with new offer, but at that time I already stopped a pickup car, and the guy offered me a lift - for free. In the back of the car. Yupii. I was back in the hotel.

Padangbai - I went for a lunch. Entering the restaurant, I see they have Czech specials. Interesting. Then I see the whole menu are czech foods . Ah, the owner is Czech. And also most of the guests. And even most of the tourists in the streets !!! So the dinner was already in a circle of some fellow czech travellers.

No pictures this time. Internet connection is very very poor.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb