Bromo volcano; Ijen, coffee plantations...and Bali - Lovina


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Bromo Tengger Semeru
October 9th 2008
Published: October 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

BromoBromoBromo

is down on the left. After viewing the sun rise we went there to climb it
I took a 3 days trip to Bromo volcano. There are also some other ones, still active. Check the pictures.

From there the next day we went to Ijen region, through coffee plantations, we visited a coffee factory. Ijen volcano - in its crater the workers dig sulphur, then they carry it up the crater, and down to the valley. One load is around 75kg !!! They do this twice a day, so around 150 kg.
And they get 600 rupiah per 1 kg, which is 0.05 euro ... so per day they earn around 8 euro.

This tour ended in the harbour on the west coast of Java, from where we took the boat on our own. I went with 2 Taiwanese girls. Although I have asked them stupid question like: "Is Taiwan part of China or not?", they still thought that how come I know some thing about their country (I mentioned general Chiang Kai-shek etc), as they do not know anything about Slovakia.
Very nice girls, they go to Australia, but at home they did not tell their parents that through Malaysia, Indonesia etc.... they parents simply think they took a flight. That was my understanding
"I was there" picture"I was there" picture"I was there" picture

the volcano in the background released fumes every 10 mins or so
from what they were saying.

While waiting for the boat to depart, local lads swim in the water, scream like mad: "Boss! Coin !! Boss ! Coin !" ... they want the people to throw them coins, they catch it, or have to dive for it .... and then they collect it in their mouths like hamsters. Where they have their dignity ... it reminded me seals begging for a fishes.

I took local bus, for 50 000 rph, it was packed, but they offered me a seat. At first I thought because they like me as a foreigner, as I was the only foreigner there, but it was because I paid almost triple the normal price ...... which I learned only later, when I saw how the locals are handing over their money to the guy who is collecting money. Bus was so full, that that guy was hanging outside in the open door.

Now I'm in Lovina, I got a cottage for myself in a nice tropical garden, with a terrace, armachairs there .... 50 000 rph (4 euro). With nice breakfast included :P I will go snorkelling in the afternoon, I think I will
Buddhist monasteryBuddhist monasteryBuddhist monastery

at the foot of Bromo
need to ask some fisherman to take me there. The reefs are some 2-3 or more km offshore.


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Village xyVillage xy
Village xy

we told the driver that he does not need to wait for us at the Bromo. We walked, took the wrong turn, and ended up walking some extra 6km through villages
kidskids
kids

but for this picture of the kids at school it was worth of it :)
Motorbikes everywhereMotorbikes everywhere
Motorbikes everywhere

There must be in Indonesia at 1-2 motorbikes per family, I'm sure about it.
Coffee factoryCoffee factory
Coffee factory

and me squatting in the coffee, in sandals, with dirty feet after whole day of trekking (it is where they dry the coffee). Think about it next time you will enjoy your cup of Java coffee :P
hot springhot spring
hot spring

i took a deep in that small pool in the back ... with hot spring water (around 40 C). The other tourists were not interested, so I had it for myself :)
I hurt my backI hurt my back
I hurt my back

by only lifting that load.
Ijen volcanoIjen volcano
Ijen volcano

and people working down there


9th October 2008

pics
nice pics!

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0676s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb