Indonesia – The Revelation That Blew Me Away!!


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Kuta
December 25th 2013
Published: January 13th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I am in the middle of my world tour and I have to say that I have seen so much and so many that nothing startles and overwhelms me now. However, if there is one surprise package that really winded me out with its earthly charm, it would be Indonesia. And to think I almost skipped this one as I thought it was the usual tropical beach destination that are so many around! Indonesia is like a fine wine. It actually grows better with time you spend here.



It is a good thing if you head to the country, like me, with no knowledge of it whatsoever. Unexpected beauty is always more powerful! Of course, it the beaches in Bali that have propelled the country to where it is – among the top of tourism in the Far East! The tropical settings are undoubtedly its calling. But nothing is usual here. Of course, I have seen it all in India, in Malaysia, in Thailand but Indonesia is different. It adds an altogether now colour to an already perfect portrait! Maybe it is the people, maybe it is the culture or maybe it is genuinely different, whatever the reason is, Indonesia really struck me as unique even with all its sameness!



Talking about culture, Indonesia is full of it. Not many might know that this country is among the world’s most populous nations. It has a very rich legacy and a rather interesting history.



As for me, I decided to include all major attractions of the country in the sightseeing tour. I ventured out alone and did not become a part of any group outings as I wished to explore this country without having to restrict myself to time or others’ fancy.



The island of Bali is the biggest attraction that has to be included in holidays to Indonesia. Picture-perfect scenic views greet people here with white-sand beaches and verdant green terraced hillsides making up the most alluring part of the geography in the region. Bali is where most foreigners will be found lazing around, taking in the sublime beauty of the place.



Those who have had enough of beaches can head to the hilly town, Ubud. This is a beautiful town where I learnt a lot about the traditions and cultures of the country. There are several art galleries, temples and museums here that enrich the holiday experience of people who look for something more than just physical attractions.



Kuta is on the other end of spectrum where people can discover a modern tourist resort. A lot of backpackers are found in this part of Indonesia. They descend here for parties and bashes. It is also the place where surfers are found in numbers.



For me Indonesia is truly the revelation so far. I didn’t hear a lot about this place before I ventured out on my long trip to scale the earth. I almost pushed it out of my schedule, but boy am I glad that I decided against it!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb