Happy Holi! Whose been tangoed?!?


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
March 14th 2006
Published: March 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Whose been Tangoed!Whose been Tangoed!Whose been Tangoed!

It's a remarkable resemblance
Happy Holi!

So I celebrated Holi in Jodhpur....holi is a festival celebrating the arrival spring...it's a crazy affair where ""colour"" is sold at various street side stalls in preparation of the world biggest water fight....with a difference...you get plastered in a multitude of dyes.

About 20 of us from the Yogi's guest house signed up to go around the city on horse and cart...which as I suspected got lots of attention and made us a prime target...which was wicked fun!

It's a holiday so everyone was out in force, high five all round as we went round the city and loads of groups of lads on their motorbikes were out in force....whooping it up big style.

As you'll see from the pics I ended up looking like the you'd been tangoed guy...good fun though...and the bunch from the hostel were excellent.

Yogi's was good...nice atmos...but the LP was right for once the service lacked a little...but hey what do you expect for 75rp a night in the dorm....from one extreme to another...still it was a good place and the rooftop restaurant was cool...great place to chill on the afternoon of holi...supping a few beers and avoiding a second paint job.

The day before was spent around the fort, which was excellent...there was an audio tour which was very informative...and the fort itself was well preserved.

I finally left Jodhpur on the 15th which was again pretty easy to organise...not seeming to have that many probs with organising my transport.

So now I'm in Pushkar...I met a guy on the bus from Ajmer to Pushkar who worked in a hotel and went to look at that one...bit dingy but negotiated the price down and decided to stay the night...but promptly shifted to a slightly more expensive one the next day...4 instead of 2 quid!! It was recommended by a french girl I met in Jodhpur...it has a nice garden and pool...so today was spent lounging round the pool with some serious relaxing going on...which I'd forgotton to do with my latest job as a professional tourist.

Last night I bumped into the guys from the camel sarafi again, should really have swapped emails..as I saw them in Jaisalmer too!!! but I was being a bit traveller lazy as I have a raft of emails from my last trip where I have not been in touch for 6 years! Ooops!

So what do I think of Pushkar...masses of tourists. I'll refrain from airing my views on some tourists as I want to give them the benefit of the doubt before allowing my stereotypes to rule my judgement.

As for the Ghat's, my early morning wander around the hotels pre-occupied my time, however I did wander around the lake and saw the pilgrims bathing...I am yet to venture to the water's edge and therefore accousted by a holy man to say a prayer for my family member and so bring them luck...soz guys will be there tomorrow..so have a lucky day! All this fot for a small donation...although from what I"ve heard they're not so backward in coming forward about the sort of donation you should make.






Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Jodhpur FortJodhpur Fort
Jodhpur Fort

and again!!
Luxurious living!Luxurious living!
Luxurious living!

The maharaja's bedroom


Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1114s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb