Sod it...time for a decent room


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaisalmer
March 11th 2006
Published: March 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Was very surprised that the sleeper bus was so comfortable...managed to get some sleep, had a bit of a heads up to organise a single bed....which helped. Gutted as had left ipod off hold in my bag and the charge for the journey had played out through the afternoons sight seeing....5 songs got through!

Still had enough for a few tunes to send me to sleep.

Got to Jaisalmer at 5am...and decided to head to Fifu's guest house...hadn't made a reservation so no one up when I got there....after a few gentle taps it was time to bring out the big guns and knock the door down....did the job and soon after I was catching some z's

Woke up to the serenity that is Fifu's, fantastic roof top with stunning views of the city. It's a bit out of town but nothing too drastic and it is made up for by the view and the chilled atmos....they also gave me lifts into town as well. however it is the most expensive place I've stayed in yet as I up'd from the 400rp room to the 650 one....just felt like indulging myself.

Jaisalmer was stunning in the sunset and certainly deserves the name of the golden city. The Fort was good....might be getting a bit of Fort fatigue soon though. Inside the fort was a lot less hassle, and very picturesque with lots of little streets to get lost in. First day was spent in the fort and in the evening finally figured out how to put photos on the blog...(you might have noticed) and then wandered to the Gadi Sagar the forts old water supply for photo op...but sun was in wrong direction...said to myself to go first thing but sleep got the better of me.

Was offered to go on camel safari to see work a French NGO was doing with local schools....but still feeling the effects of the last camel ride...and finding out the price I decided I couldn't be bothered haggling and decided to spend day two looking at the Jain temple in town and the havelis.

However I couldn't find the havelis and refused to get an auto there....may be next time.

The afternoon was spent getting into my book and chilling with a few Swiss ornothologists (??) (bird watchers). One of the lads had an amazing camera and some fantastic shots of birds mid flight, and also insects...for an amateur he was very good....he said however with digital it's a lot easier and that it was hard to make a career of it.

Organised the bus from Jaisalmer to Jodhpur through Fifu's, not sure if I got the best deal as in LP it says it's cheaper, but still bus was good and I had a seat.

Ipod again caused much interest as did I...In an attempt to introduce some western music to a villager (got on the bus in the middle of nowhere with a bag of seed) we established that he was a bit of a rocker as he enjoyed AC/DC more so than Jamiroquai.

Arrived in Jodphur today to a barrage of touts who spotted me through the window on the bus. Taking no crap on the auto front....although probably still paying over the odds. Had decided it was time to start negotiating on the price of rooms....having avoided one as it was too far out of town I took in 3 before settling on Yogi;s...not the best LP review but hey it's only a guide....so from one extreme to another...I'm in a dorm, with shared bath...75rp a night....gotta get the spending habits back to normal levels after the extravagances of last few days.

Spent afternoon on rooftop restaurant reading my book to then get lost down the blue streets of Jodhpur looking for t'interweb.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



17th March 2006

Wow - Photos
Hi Sounds like you're having a fantastic time now - must say it looks like Fifu's was definetely worth the extra money!! Liking the photos lots - you'll have to put some more on! I guess you've got a pretty good tan by now - yes I am insanely jealous, its been snowing here for days!!!! Where are you now? How much longer have you got before you have to come back, or are you trying not to think about that!! Look forward to the next update! Nic
18th March 2006

Cheers mate...loving it!
Yep you're dead right...I'm having a blast even on the occasions when I'm on me tod...I'm loving the thinking time. not made it to the 3rd test match...hanging out in Pushkar. Leave tom for Jaipur...then there's another holi...day...sorry can't resist...I'll update the blog with pics asap and you'll understand. Then planning to go to national park to spot some tigers, then a place called bundi and then Udaipur....oh it's a hard life being a professional tourist!!! Tan wise...only just started mate...too much temple visiting and covering up in respect....spent another day by the hotel pool today...bargain a 4 quid a night!! Now trying to buy a sarong, as my old one is knacker...it's my only towel...but much better to have than a regular one!
8th April 2006

Hi Jon. Looks and sounds like you are having an amazing time! Fair play to you, mate! I have to say though, not liking the picture of the rats! I think I would have had to check in to a "decent room" before now! You'll have to put the picture of you on of you in your sarong - now that will be something to see!! Nothing to report here, it's still bloody cold. Today is a gorgeous day but woke up to snow... can you believe it in April! Off to the gym in a bit so till next time! Take care of yourself. LOL Anita x

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb