You can beat the backsheesh system!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Orissa » Bhubaneswar
June 1st 2010
Published: June 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

The said bikeThe said bikeThe said bike

Sitting on the floor of the showroom on that very evening in question!
On dropping in on the Enfield showroom back in April - to my delight my bike had arrived - sitting there on the floor just waiting patiently for it’s final check and for me to finalise my finances from Australia to pay the balance and take it.

The dealer (who I would describe as ‘sterotype extra-ordinaire’ of everything you ever thought was dodgy about an old-style Australian ‘used car salesman’ quietly - actually there is nothing quiet about this man - tells me how lucky I am and how grateful I should be that he has put me ahead of others in terms of waiting list - that I have had priority etc. because of my limited time (I don’t know where he got that one from - is a year in Bhubaneswar “limited” time? - maybe he meant that I needed it for my September trip to Himachal?? - but it’s was only April then right?) etc. etc..

AND how he has been so efficient in negotiating with the Road Transport Office to have the bike registered in my own
Picking up "Gladys"Picking up "Gladys"Picking up "Gladys"

Here we are leaving the showroom - my bike has been named "Gladys"
name (which apparently is totally according to the rules and due process given I have a Indian Residency Permit and Certificate, a working visa etc…).

The rub then comes: I need to pay an ‘extra fee’ to the RTO official of 3,500 rupees (about Aus $74).

I inquire about this - why? What for? It becomes apparent exactly what this is and to be absolutely crystal clear I ask him to his face: “So very frankly - is this backsheesh?” to which the answer is given simply “yes”.

Right - got that straight then. But not happy!

I return home and discuss this with my NGO supervisor (Sarita) and her husband Bijoy. Bijoy works as a senior official in the Indian Govt Department of Finance in Cuttack. Both he and Sarita agree with me that if it’s clearly legal and process that I am eligible to have the bike registered in my name then there is no question of anything underhand that needs to be paid for by way of a bribe (and if there was I should not do it anyway because then I will be vulnerable to problems with the authorities later). Logically then
Getting a final checkGetting a final checkGetting a final check

Gladys having her final health check before being able to leave the showroom
- why pay backsheesh to anyone? This is apart from the ethical issue of supporting the entrenched system of backsheesh by doing so. It’s one thing to tip some cleaner or waiter because they are miserably paid and have done a reasonable job but I detest it at the government official level (albeit these guys might not be richly paid - but here is the root of Indian corruption which is a huge issue here).

After discussing things more and me taking advice from my great friend Rajendra (in Mumbai) and a lawyer (Essenes) I met in Delhi - concurring with Bijoy’s views, Bijoy rings the dealer the next day and asks questions about this ‘extra fee’ just to be clear: "what is this all about - why baksheesh? what for? etc.." - quietly mentioning his position and that he will be able to go straight to people in the RTO to clarify the matter on Monday morning.

Well!! The dealer starts backing down quick smart! - he has the wind put up him well and proper now and starts lying through his teeth that the money quoted had to do with extra fittings (not true at all of course! - that comes later and naturally I will pay for those things as ‘extras’ as agreed e.g. luggage rack and roll bar). Registration and initial insurance is all part of the quoted price for the bike and it’s the dealer’s job to arrange the registration for me.

So the dealer was obviously in on the scam methinks! - and has now said that of course there is no need to pay backsheesh to anyone! Bijoy remains cool - and just says that if there was any problem he would call the RTO to seek clarification!!!! “No need sir” the dealer assures him.

Issue solved it seems (assuming the dealer does not impose any passive-aggressive retribution in the rest of my relationship with Royal Enfield in Bhubaneswar - I am reliant on them for initial servicing under warranty and so on). I can report some months later there has not been any issues - I trust he would do that as his peril given that Royal Enfield company may not be impressed after the fuss I would then make about him.

So there you go! - easy to solve when you know someone of importance! And the system can be beat it seems!

As a foreigner, I am vulnerable to scams in India - it’s always good to know people who can go bat for you! Thanks Rajendra, Essenes, and Bijoy!


Advertisement



5th June 2010

History in the makings
I think you should send that achievement to the Guinness Book of Records. Well done you and Rajendra, Essenes and Bijoy! Do you know if they are interested in starting a constultancy!!!!!!!!!!!! Hugs Marguerite

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb