First Day at the IDPR office April 5th 2010


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Orissa » Bhubaneswar
April 7th 2010
Published: April 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

IDPR from the front streetIDPR from the front streetIDPR from the front street

The office is the right hand side of the ground floor - the rest of the place is the home of Sarita and family. My accommodation is attached at the back and accessed around the block via the back lane.
Just a coupla shots of the office of IDPR where I will work now over the year plus ahead.

If anyone is interested in checking out this NGO they can view the website at:

http://www.idpr.org.in/future.htm

Not much else to say right now - all ahead of me - but the office space is pretty cool and the staff seem really nice. Sarita and Sulata have good English (Sarita excellent - she lived in the states for 7 years while her husband studied at Cornell University). Sneha has reasonable English and Kahnu gets by but is in the zone of nodding (as if to say yes) when he may not really have understood the message - so have to be a little more explicit with him.

Kahnu is also very keen to show me his 'village' which I take it is just on the outskirts of the city and will become a housing estate any day soon.

I have become friendly with a few of the guys from SAKHA - a gay men's support group. Three of them met me at the station when I arrive (with flowers of course!) and got me back to my accommodation.
SaritaSaritaSarita

This is an amazing woman - very clever, experienced, the daughter of the founder (who seems to have been a local legend), very passionate about social justice and the an expert in Sexuality and Reproductive Health issues. AND a really nice person and easy to get on with.
We spent some time (chai etc..) and the next day Subham (who is 24 and the first gay man to come out publicly in Orissa - very brave guy!! - and who leads the organisation) took me in to do some shopping and check out alternative accom on the weekend - see other blog about accom - suffice to say I am staying put for now). He also gave me a life into town to 'order' my Enfield (which I have now done - that's another story and there is a whole separate blog on that indulgence!).


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Sulata - Office ManagerSulata - Office Manager
Sulata - Office Manager

Sulata used to be a journo on a local paper - now a social worker and officially my line support (but kinda shared with Sarita who is unofficially Sulata's line support).
Kahnu and SnehaKahnu and Sneha
Kahnu and Sneha

Khanu works PT and is doing his Masters in Social Work - and is a bit of a lad. He is the office assistant! Sneha is also just finishing her Masters in Social Work, is married, and is the FT Office Administrator. There is also a support worker named Geeta who was not in today
Who is this? Who is this?
Who is this?

MIght have to do something about that non-ergonomical chair (being an old bloke to boot). My desk actually turned out to be another one - was just posing for the shot!


20th April 2010

Cool
just like reality TV. Can we vote someone off in a month's time? ;-)
11th May 2010
Sarita

Your co-workers
Sarita sounds like a lovely person to have around - and it's important to have someone like this in any work setting, I think.
11th May 2010
IDPR from the front street

Commuting to the office ...
... shouldn't take too long then.

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb