I'm going to Bollywood!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
April 11th 2005
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

India Gate in New Delhi.India Gate in New Delhi.India Gate in New Delhi.

Robyn and myself posing by the imposing India Gate.
We took a tuk tuk
To see the India Gate
Wow it's impressive!

Just a quick entry since I've been very, very lazy in updating my blog...just wanted to let all know that I'm having an amazing time here in India.

Today I took it pretty easy. I did a little bit of sightseeing with Robyn and David. After a bit of negotiation with the auto rickshaw driver we were on our way to see India Gate...well sort of. The driver had to check in with his brother...I think he wanted to double check where it was he was going to be taking us.

The India Gate is a concrete memorial for all Indian soldiers. It is quite an impressive structure that my pictures cannot do justice partly because it is so sunny out today. It looks a bit like the Arc de Triomphe. Then we drove near the Parliament buildings and the residence of the Prime Minister. We couldn't stop because apparently there are some "special" talks going on with some visiting Chinese people (not me).

We did a little bit of shopping after a brief stop at a handicraft emporium...a little commission for the tuk
Auto RickshawAuto RickshawAuto Rickshaw

Auto Rickshaw Driver, David, Bonnie and Robyn.
tuk driver. I'm guessing not much of a commission since us cheapskates did not buy anything. I did not feel guilty though because they did say that looking is free. 😊

We eventually made it back to the hotel and here I am...yup, still typing. I will be heading off to the train station shortly to catch an overnight train to Mumbai. Excited, anxious and sad...so many feelings! Hope to catch up with everyone once I reach Mumbai.

Hugs and stuff,
Bonz


Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb