Recovery on the West Coast


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Varkala
January 16th 2008
Published: January 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well the stomach bug was vanquished, I hope, and I recovered enough to get on a train and head towards the southwest coast of India. I returned to Varkala, a small beach town that I had visited four years ago. The area where most people end up is the Cliff where there are countless restaurants, hotels/guesthouses, shops, and now yoga, ayurvedic medicine, and reiki schools. The number of places perched on the cliff has at least quadrupled and so have the prices but its still a very scenic place with a great beach. I think just what I need to prepare my mind and body for the push north.

Its also a good place to reflect as I have reached the halfway point of my trip. Of course many of you know a big reason for this trip was not only vacation and escape, I also need to get some space and perspective to process many things. And so far I feel like I have really been able to get some different perspectives on many things as well as let a lot of "stuff'' go. I know I haven't really written that much about this part of my experience but I have really found a sense of calm and peace that I haven't felt in a long time. I think partly because I have a hard time slowing the pace of my life down enough to be able to feel and process my life instead of racing ahead of myself. It is difficult to travel alone at times but I know for myself it is invaluable because it makes me focus on myself without distraction. I'm not sure what the future holds for me on my return but I feel like I will be in a good place to engage whatever happens more fully. Thanks for all your support.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



18th January 2008

very peaceful looking
Glad you are up and about again. Great pictures. enjoy the process. miss you but understand the importance of it all. love mom

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb