Ft Kochi, Kerala


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Kochi
January 20th 2008
Published: January 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

on the road againon the road againon the road again

train to kochi
Well I'm on my way to the train station but since the intranet connection was so fast and I found the nicest internet cafe that I have seen in India I thought I would add a quick entry and upload some pics. Well I feel like I'm back on track on many levels after a brief respite in Varkala.
I'm been in Kochi for a couple of days and have been staying in the old fort area which you take a ferry to very similar distance from Jack London in Oakland to SF Ferry Building. Its also similar because it seems to be a sizeable port with lots of container ships being uploaded. I think it has been a major port since the 1300s and the Portugese and British got involved in the early 1500s. There is big Christian influence with many catholic churchs but it was a haven for the Myuchasim Jews were fleeing the occupation of Jerusalem by Nebuchadnezzar in 587 BC. These early settlers began to trade in spices and the neighborhood where the synagouge is located now called "Jew Town" is still a center for spice trading.
There are lots of colonial buildings all over the fort
Ft KochiFt KochiFt Kochi

church
area and it was nice to wander around. I'm headed north to Karnatika, probably to a towned called Gokarna. Until then...


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Ft KochiFt Kochi
Ft Kochi

fisherman
Ft KochiFt Kochi
Ft Kochi

fisherman who told me that the chinese fishing nets are actually portugese
Ft KochiFt Kochi
Ft Kochi

Chinese fishing nets in background
Ft KochiFt Kochi
Ft Kochi

Numerology reading. Not sure how helpful alhtough 16 is my lucky number...
Ft KochiFt Kochi
Ft Kochi

Jew Town
Ft KochiFt Kochi
Ft Kochi

Jewish cemetary
Ft KochiFt Kochi
Ft Kochi

Dutch Palace
Ft KochiFt Kochi
Ft Kochi

classic
Ft KochiFt Kochi
Ft Kochi

butcher
Ft KochiFt Kochi
Ft Kochi

butcher
Ft KochiFt Kochi
Ft Kochi

fruit stand


21st January 2008

The evolution of a vegetarian
Cool pictures. Like the one of you and the numerologist (sounds like a medical position to me). I would definitely be okay as a vegetarian (eating fish) in India. You are having an amazing time. What a memory and you are looking really well. Keep the blog going. abrazos. mom
23rd January 2008

You look bright and bushy tailed...
you look good considering you were dropping luggage in the toilet just a little while ago. It seems that the bug has left and left you fresh to continue your trip, enjoy bro.

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb