Goa


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Colva
September 3rd 2008
Published: September 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi, from India!
I can't believe I've been here nearly two weeks already. The time has flown and I start my project on Thursday. Up to now our group has been on a week doing various activities which have included an abseil (which was news to me thankfully!) a trek and a visit to an ashram. Last week was based mainly around Lanovala and we moved down to Goa on Sunday. We got to the camp here in Colva early Sunday and have just been settling in, being shown the various volunteer projects we can take part in.
The trek, I'm ashamed to say I found really hard but thankfully I wasn't the only one. It was well worth the sweat though for the views and the feeling of completing it at the end. The over night stay in the "shed" was amusing with all on us lined up on the floor. We had very little sleep that night and I was just hoping not to need the loo in the middle of the night as it was at the end of the field in a tin hut, frogs included. The abseil on the second day was abit of a surprise but it was such a great place to do it, at the top of a mountain overlooking the stunning countryside. The view took my mind off what I was doing, well kind of..
The heat has been my main hurdle so far, the Monica frizz is well and truly out and my ankles have swollen. Thankfully they go down at night but the water just seems to pool in my eye lids instead!..I've thought about raising my feet and pillow at night but then the thought of where the water retention will move to then is even worse!! I've been assured that I should acclimatise to the heat, here's hoping as I've got three more hot destinations to go yet.
The ashram was ok we did quite a bit of hanging around but we did three yoga sessions and I got a couple of treatments while we were there. It wasn't as tranquil as I'd imagined but I have a feeling this was not typical of what they can be like? I had a foot massage which was nice and then a strange auyrvedic treatment which involved a facial massage,which was lovely. This was then followed by steam being wafted around my face, then warm oil poured down each nostril and finished with inhaling a yellow powder that had been burnt to create a vapour!...interesting. All I can say is I was left feeling very sleepy and smelling of off milk as they massaged with ghee. This wasn't pleasant as our next stop after this was the train station for the over night train to Goa.
The overnight train was a new experience. We traveled third class which meant we had air con but slept three beds high and even though the thought of going up to the top bunk scared me the middle bunk felt pretty claustrophobic as you kind of had to slide into the bed and was unable to sit up on it. Still we all said once you ignored the fact that it was very communal sleeping it was a really comfy bed and the system works really well as everyone settles down and it's remarkably quiet. Then before you know it morning arrives along with the breakfast of omlete and toast to the lovely view of the Goan scenery out the window. Yes I did get down from my bunk to eat it and you just all then squat on the lower person's bunk, very cosy.
I must just add a quick update on the toilet paper situation as it's now becoming a bit of a common theme ...We are allowed loo roll but it's one small value roll a week each which we have to sign for! Who are they kidding do they not realise we're eating Indian food for breakfast, lunch and diner! ...sorry too much information but I just thought I'd let Maureen know her present has been well needed thank you!
Anyway I'm able to write this up today as in my honor Goa has made today a public holiday so there is no work. Ok, so it's not for my birthday it's for the god Ganesh which I find really great timing for me as he is the elephant Hindu of good omen, how fab!! A group of us are going out tonight which will be good to get off the camp for the night. I may have a beer or two I'll raise a glass to all of those I'd love to have with me tonight, thinking of you all, Karen. x
P.s I would of added pics to this but when I've gone to do so I've been told it's illegal?! Will have to add them another time or find a way round it.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.223s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1632s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb