The Big Buddha


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Lantau Island
January 7th 2007
Published: January 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Pretty bloody high!Pretty bloody high!Pretty bloody high!

The cable car ride to the Big Buddha. Shame about the fog but still quite cool.
Right, in the "Blogging" world I am still in Hong Kong whereas in fact I am now in Australia so you'll have to bear with me as I am writing this from what seems like a distant memory.

At some point in my trip I took a tour to see the Big Buddha on Lantau Island. We decided to take the tourist route onboard a Cable Car which stretches over land and sea. This gave me the opportunity to take some spectacular photographs of Hong Kong from very high up, or so i thought. The ride was a bit of a bust as fog covered most of Hong Kong as you can see from the photo. However it was still pretty cool to go so high and far in a surprisingly sturdy box.

We arrived at Lantau amid a vast crowd of tourists and made our way over to the Buddha. Now this guy looks very impressive from the bottom of the huge flight of stairs but i could not help but think that they could have made him a bit more accessible to wheelchairs (and to people that have put on about a stone of weight in one month!) . Usually in Hong Kong there are escalators to take you up even the smallest of hills but here, i guess they did not think it would fit in with the theme.

Puffing and panting, I reach the top and head for the museum in the centre of the statue to discover when the big man was built. It was at this point that i regretted walking up the stairs. Although he is big and metal and a fairly impressive structure on the whole, work only started on him in 1981, which makes him only two years older than me!! Now call me critical but for something only 25 years old, i am afraid i would expect something at least twice the size, especially in Hong Kong where every other building is designed with a sure case of Little-man syndrome! (refer to IFC2 if you will, which is a big penis shaped building on Hong Kong island.) Maybe I am being a little bit harsh here but I was just expecting something a bit more historical. You could say I was a victim of my own ignorance I guess.

Advertisement



10th January 2007

Green Monster Strikes!
Dude, the more i read the more i get jealous and wish i was out there!! You, robson and hayden are on my hit list now man!! You best brace yourself fool!! Glad your enjoying it though! J

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1104s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb