Just don't mention the bloody cricket!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
January 16th 2007
Published: January 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

As a final note on Hong Kong, I have to mention the food. It is truely awesome. You can get anyhting you want and its dirt cheap as well. I have put on about 6 pounds in weight in little over a month but i dont regret one bite. Well maybe the chickens feet but i had to try it! If you like seafood then you'll love it here and of course if you do happen to like chickens feet, well then ditto i guess.

Upon leaving Hong Kong I experienced certain immigration problems. Apparently STA have managed to make a mess of my application for an Australian working Visa! So currently I am only here on a 3 month tourist Visa and i have been informed that if i want to attain a working Visa, i need to first leave the country and re-apply! And no Marshy this is not all down to me being a lazy Pr*ck and not sorting it out properly, it is STA's fault! So I may be taking a quick trip over to Military-controlled Fiji for a bit of drama within the next month.

As for my activities in Australia so far, I
Trophy girlfriendTrophy girlfriendTrophy girlfriend

By the look on my face you'd think i'd caught it myself, but i didn't
am currently staying with my Step-Bro Geoff, his wife Julie and their baby Geoffry Jnr and they are playing excellent hosts. So I have been based in Logan which is just outside of Brisbane. I have taken a couple of day trips into Brizzo itself which is a really nice city. Southbank is cool as it has a man-made beach/swimmingpool which runs alongside the river. It's actually quite nice to walk around a city and not bump into people as you go. It is a lot more chilled out than Hong Kong! Yet to have a night on the town there though so can't be too sure what it is like.

I did experience a drunken night of Kane-Toad hunting which was very good sport. Just to let any environmentalists know, Kane-Toads are actually a Pest which were introduced to the country to eat the Kane-Beatle but have got out of hand. So it is merely frowned upon to shoot them in the face with an air rifle from point blank range!

Following this, I took a trip over to Tambourine Mountain for some rock-jumping into fresh water pools. Lovely place. Hot as hell but still nice. Scenery
Really love those chickens feetReally love those chickens feetReally love those chickens feet

I enjoyed the way the knuckles moved in my mouth
is beautiful and there were some loonies jumping into the pools from fairly high up. I would have joined in myself but it was a bit busy!

About the best thing i have done so far was a Scuba diving course up in Bundaberg. The town itself seems pretty quite but the scuba diving was good. On the first day of diving, I saw a couple of snakes and actually stepped on the head of one of them. After the course was finished the instructor told me it was actually a Bandit Snake which is the most poisonous snake in the world, including land snakes! He said he didnt want to tell me at the time because he was worried that i might not have got in the water afterwards...bastard!! I told him "I would have got back in but just made sure that i didnt step on his head again!!"

I also saw a couple of baby sting rays and one huge one sleeping in a cave! Thoughts of Steve Irwin (RIP) floated into my mind. So i am looking forward to going diving again but wont be venturing out on my own just yet!

Anyway
Rock slideRock slideRock slide

Fresh water pools. Some guys were jumping from the rocks but it was a bit busy for me to join in
i'll leave it there i think. Hope everyone is well. Im about to head down to Byron Bay to catch up with my good friends Macca, Ben and Robbbooooo Roobbooooooooo.





Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Tambourine MountainTambourine Mountain
Tambourine Mountain

Apparently people hang glide off of this edge! I'm pretty sure i would bottle it if i tried...defo face plant into the bush!
Check out those Guns...my word!Check out those Guns...my word!
Check out those Guns...my word!

Probably didnt need the respirator just yet
Bandit SnakeBandit Snake
Bandit Snake

Most poisonous snake around, including land snakes.
OopsOops
Oops

Look how brave/clumsy I am
ParadiseParadise
Paradise

I'm going to live here one day
The Australian BournemouthThe Australian Bournemouth
The Australian Bournemouth

This stretch of beach is about the length of the M4 from Bristol to London!!
A treeA tree
A tree

Just because i like it


29th January 2007

Oh Gary Gary....
Jacquesy, Always a pleasure to catch up with your adventure and find out how your getting on!! Snakes and visas aside sounds like your having a whale of a time. Obviously sat in the office on my lunch break glowing with envy....enjoy hooking up with Macca etc, look forward to the next installment!!!
9th February 2007

Who cares...?!
Who cares that you've got all this amazing weather and everything else? We got two SNOW DAYS!! Beat that :P xxx

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb