Kung Fo Fighting


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Lamma Island
December 5th 2006
Published: December 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The most surreal episode of the trip so far occured yesterday...

I head over to lamma island for a break from the hustle and bustle of the city. This is a beautiful little place and displays a massive contrast between old and new China. On arrival, if you look to your left you see a tiny little fishing village with fresh fish in tanks outside of the restaurants. To your right there is an enourmous Industrial factory with huge steam towers.

I head through a village called Wang Long (they have some cool names out here) and onto a beach resort. The village is beautiful and looks completely untouched by the Western world although there is a commercial side to it as well.

The surreal bit...

Whilst sitting in a beach restaurant eating spring rolls, this beautiful Chinese "lady" does a semi-erotic photo shoot about 20 yards in front of me! At the same time I am treated to lovely rendition of Kung Foo Fighting by a group of drunk German people behind me!!

All this entertainment for the equivelent of 4 bloody pounds!! I love this place.

I am now on my own for the day as my new friends have left for new adventures. We did have a big leaving do where we ended up in a bar playing a game called Bullshit with the owner until about 6am! Its a bit like spoof but with 5 dice and a cup...I can see me losing alot of money at this game. Langley you'll love this game. But you wont be able to play it at your usual pace, the owner kept shouting at me for taking too long!

Right got to go and find something to do with my day and probably catch up on some sleep!

Speak soon

Gareth

Advertisement



8th December 2006

Fu*kin hustlers
Why is it that some people cannot play these games at a sensible pace. Slow and steady wins the race..!!!..when i get out there we will have to go into town and spoof the chinese mafia, i reckon we could take them to the cleaners..!!! Make sure you save a bit of cash for Monday night G, i will be looking to take on board 5 pints..min...!!!
14th December 2006

Sounds like you don't miss the hustle of working at Dalkia. Glad to see that you finally got there mate. Your stories are comedy genius - keep em coming. See ya x

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb