My room is the official Lady-repeller of Hong Kong!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
December 2nd 2006
Published: December 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

After finally getting off of the plane (Quantas rules by the way. Constantly giving food out!) I headed for my hostel in down town Kowloon. I meet a spanish chick on my bus who is also staying at my hostel so i at least have company for the next few days.

Upon arrival, i am fairly pleased with my room. However after trying to get a quick power-nap i quickly realise that my bed is right next to two toilets. Fine i thought at least i have quick access. But after the owner of the place took the noisiest piss i've ever heard, i had to move to a different room. Honestly it sounded like a camel was pissing on my ear!

I leave this hostel to find a new room which is located on the 17th floor in what I assume is the non-white or chinese section of the city. I struggle my way through a flock of Indian guys trying to sell me everything from suits to smack and am greeted by the landlady. I could not have been more intimidated if Saddam Hussein himself was handing me my key. She informs me that i must not open the window because someone broke it last week and fell out. she tells me "the police were called and everything. It was a mess." So i take a cautious glance over the edge and am suddenly hit with a massive case of vertigo as i remember that i am on the 17th floor. "Yes it was a mess" she repeated!

Keen to get out of this place I take a shower and catch the ferry over to hong kong island with my spanish friend. We take a long long walk around some of the city, going to the 55th floor of the tallest buiding around and plan our route. The view was amazing. We decide to head over to the "rough"area to see what the non-commercial side of the city is like. This was a real culture shock. This one area consisted of only shops selling dried fish and one product that looked like a dried out dogs leg complete with toes and nails! Must have been for some sort of medicine as it didnt make much of an ornament.

After this we take a walk over to the main pub area to get harrassed by every bastard around to get us into their bar (It was like Kavos 2002). Not being in the mood for this, i tell them to "Do one" and head back to Hollywood road to find a more suitable place for a much needed beer. We get some noodles and two beers each for a total of 65 dollars (about 4 pounds).

I part ways with Debra (spanish chick) and head for "Death-ville" for a shower and change. I Leave in a rush and hit the town at my normal sort of time, around 7-8ish. Little did i know that the "night" would not end till about 10 the next morning. Being the cuture-vulture that i am, i choose an Irish bar as my frst drinking hole. I meet a New Zealander at the bar and we hook up with Debra, an american guy...and a brummy! (I travel for over 8000 miles to once again hear the deligtful accent of birmingham!)

We headed down to the water front to buy a few cans of local lager and take in the awesome view of Hong Kong Island. I'd love to have a photo of it to show you how breathtaking it really is but im yet to buy a camera.

We end up hitting this club at about 4am which is run by this bigtime, gay chinese bloke who sorts us out with a few complimentary drinks. He fancied one of us but not sure which one as he kind of flirted with anything not in a skirt.

This club is pretty cool and i leave for home sometime in the morning with a lady on my arm only to find that a cockroach infested boiler room with a blackbag for a window instantly kills the mood. All the oysters of the seven seas would not have helped. "I'll meet you another time and we'll stay at mine" she says and walks the other way! Feeling fairly disgruntled i enter the "Lady repeller" and go to bed to awake at 6 in the evening with a killer hangover.

So this is Hong Kong so far, awesome views, amazing culture, and late nights with dissapointing endings!

I apologise for the long-winded opening blog. I'll break up the words with some photoes next time.

Anyway its about time i got ready for round 2

Peace out and love to all

Gareth

Advertisement



2nd December 2006

Start how you intend to go on.
Jacquesy, You legend. Sounds like you've started the trip with a bang. The lady repeller sounds like a geat place to stay. That was just one night out of the next 547 days. Keep reporting back.
2nd December 2006

Street Sellers
You're going to have to get used to people trying to sell you things, its not that unusual in Asia!! Weird that you're surprised by it...
3rd December 2006

Crying with laughter
Jacquesy mate, you are fcuking comedy genius!! I am sitting now, in my cousin's plush apartment, about to watch a film on his 50" plasma. However, i cant help but feel that the experience of the lady repeller would be something to behold, and quality in its own right!!! When i read youre blog, i was literally crying with laughter, had me in stiches. When my cuz and his wife asked me what was so funny, i couldnt even speak!!! QUALITY STORY WELL TOLD DUDE!!! Have you checked out my blog, its a bit more formal, but with mild humour included!!! leave me a comment man!! Beijing is wicked!!! some v. cool pics on my blog. Went to the Summer Palace today!! Fcukin awseome!! Sounds like u would love it too, as the beef cock i saw on the menu the otherday was sumptuous!! (on a par with dog leg!!) Take it easy mate, Robbo
6th December 2006

Whats wrong with a brummy accent?
Maybe now you'll appreciate my accent and your own bedroom! Sounds great! I think I'll stick with my nice hotels. Take care and be careful xx
16th December 2006

Oh dear lady repeller doesn't sound good.
Hey there Master Jacques Glad to hear you're having a good time and meeting up with loads of people. Wish I was living it up around the world. Its getting cold on them sports fields. Can't believe that girl walked away from you coz of your room-time to move on me thinks. Hope to hear from you soon. Keep having fun and for gods sake get a camera. Love Maz

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb