The Hong Kong Dream


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
August 1st 2005
Published: August 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Me under the street lightsMe under the street lightsMe under the street lights

My big spend;a new t-shirt that I actually put on at the cash register!
I know I know, this has taken me awhile to post, but that's just the way it goes okay?!!?


Having survived the miserable (with a cold) flight from Johannesburg I was blown away by the sight of Hong Kong-even from the plane!! I was expecting a culture shock and it certainly hit me! I made my way from the airport to the YWCA in the Kowloon area. As I paused to check on the map if I was walking in the right direction, a local decided to look over my shoulder. He figured it would be best if he walked me there as much as I insisted it wasn't necessary. So we talked with theatrical hand gestures along the way, and finally after12 blocks we were at the front door. He wished me good fortune in his beautiful city and began running back to his starting point-he only had a 30 minute lunch break afterall! What a great welcome for me into this city!! I all ready began to regret scheduling only 4 days here to explore!!


Once I had settled into my room, all I could think of was having a bit of a rest. So I turned on the telly and laid my head on my pillow. I didn't understand anything that was being said, but seeing Brad Pitt sell me Heinekein was a nice sight before drifting off to sleep. I guess it really is like the movie "Lost in Translation" with many big movie stars making some extra cash advertising on Asian TV. I also saw adverts from the health authority encouraging wearing a mask and gloves when you are ill. I used to think that it was just a few individuals that were so extremely germ consious, but it seems to be the way of Asia.


When I finally decided to get some 'fresh air' I walked over to Nathan Road and was blown away by the notorious lights. Advertising hotel rooms by the hour nextdoor to a mobile phone shop, nextdoor to a Chanel shop. The crowds were heaving and my eyes were beaming-what a buzz!! Back in Sheffield at 11:00 I would have been brushing my teeth, but here it seems to be just the beginning of the shopping hour! I walked up and down and around the night markets and was finally coaxed into buying a couple
Night Market FoodNight Market FoodNight Market Food

The most common place to eat
of cheap t-shirts. New clothes, a backpacking thrill!


The next day started with a walk through the fishmarket. The bagged goldfish hung in the doorway of every shop on the block. I ended up studying the varieties a little more intensly than I had originally intended, as I hid from the intermitant showers that hit the streets at such a regular basis. In the beginning I said to myself that I'd wear my waterproof-but it was far too hot. I then said that getting wet wasn't such a big deal. I finally succumbed to buying a cheap umbrella to avoid being such a prune at my age.


I continued my walk in the direction of the waterfront passing shopping malls, the meat market, the clothing market, the junk market-absolutely everything. Thought it might be wise to refer to my map quickly, only to discover I had walked twice the intended distance and in the wrong direction! So much for my map reading skills. I managed to hop onto the metro to people watch in comfort. My immediate comparision for this mode of transport is the tube in London and it can only be said that there
The Hong Kong butcherThe Hong Kong butcherThe Hong Kong butcher

Even the butcher needs to wear the minimum in the heat! Very thankful for the apron!
are certainly no similarities. The air conditioning was such a joy, and my amazement at watching people continue their phone conversations whilst we wizzed through the underground tunnels must have entertained others.


When I surfaced under the rainclouds again, I couldn't help but duck into a Starbucks for cover. Sipping my frappuccino I studied my book of what else I should be doing in this city at a leisurely pace. Shopping seems to dominate, and I had spent my budget on t-shirts so perhaps it's time for some dinner time noodles before heading home. If only I knew then how many noodle cups I would be consuming in the days to come.


The next day I went downstairs for breakfast and was greeted by John Denver, Elvis and Neil Diamond on the wall. Not exactly what I expected in Hong Kong, but I know to expect anything! I made my way over to the central downtown area. I felt like an ant as I walked underneath all of the towering structures filled with people in offices or their homes. I went a bit nuts with the camera taking different angles upward or reflections. I finally filled
Under the Kowloon Cultural CenterUnder the Kowloon Cultural CenterUnder the Kowloon Cultural Center

The angular walkway at the Cultural center
the memory card and dragged myself to the top of Victoria Peak. Okay, I admit-I didn't actually climb it as I needed to squeeze in as much sightseeing in as I could. Good excuse huh? I took the tram to the top and was entertained by the view. The approaching raincloud that I was ABOVE might mean that I wouldn't get wet, and everybody down below would. A simple pleasure, it was great fun to watch!!


I then booked a ticket to see a Cantonese opera that night. I've been to an opera once before in London and in between my light snoozes I did enjoy the show. By attending a Cantonese opera I felt my cultural intake would be maximized within my short stay in this city. I received many many looks as I walked through the door. One lady even grabbed my arm and in perfect english told me that the this was not the entrance to the star ferry. Clarifying that I was here to see the show, I was ushered to my seat. Now, it wasn't actually an opera but the songs from the opera. Perhaps I should have read the small print as
The Star WalkThe Star WalkThe Star Walk

Along the Tsim Sha Tsui promenade. Certain sections are called the 'Star Walk' as there are 'Hollywood' stars on the ground.
I had been looking forward to seeing the costumes as well. Oh well, there were 2 performers on stage at a time singing duets that many people in the audience knew as well. A smile approaching a giggle took over my face as soon as I heard the female operatic voice. The high pitched nasal sound might be considered a whine by some, although it was very genuine and did evoke many emotions. When the man began to sing, he sounded as though he was laughing at her as well. It was such a great sound together and I found myself joining in and clapping with the crowds...between a few light snnoozes still!


My next adventure was to take one of the street trams to various locations downtown. I squeezed my way on and had a great view of the passing shopping crowds beneath me. I jumped off at the Happy Valley racecourse and stopped to watch an ex-pat rugby game in the center. There certainly is an advantage to it not being horse racing season as I was able to enjoy different sights! Although I'm still set on a Kiwi rugby player, an ex-pat player might lead
The Star FerryThe Star FerryThe Star Ferry

The quickest and most scenic way between Kowloon and downtown
a more exciting life. Hhhhhhmmmmmmm, will take any applications that come my way.


I found a place that became my local internet and coffee shop and even had a few light meals there. I didn't really know what I was eating all the time, but the staff seemed so nice that I just took their advice. It was situated on a road that housed some of the most difficult sights I have seen on my trip sofar. Owning a cute little dog is a fashion accessory for many people in Hong Kong. Apart from my cafe, every shop on the road seemed to have cages in the window filled with dogs of all shapes and sizes. They were all extremely clean and seemed well cared for, but I found it heart breaking to see a full grown husky in a cage most suited for a rabbit. It scared me a bit when my cousin reminded me to be careful of what I eat-though THAT was clearly out of the question!


Another day I followed a suggested walking tour through the dried seafood area. Everything possible was dried and sitting in a basket for a chinese medicine
Night LightsNight LightsNight Lights

The lights in the building with the staircase molded into a different colour every few seconds
doctor or housewife to examine and buy. I also walked past Man Mo Temple, a very interesting sight inside as they had hundreds of incense coils burning. Some that hung from the ceiling were the size of me! On this walk I even went up the longest esculator in the world. Not exactly something I've ever stived to complete, but with the hills in the Hong Kong center it was certainly appreciated! One of the things that hit me as I walked past the many different shops trying to intice me into buying everything possible, was that I've actually seen all this stuff before. It's easy to forget that as there is a Chinatown in most big cities, the slippers and fans, chopsticks and purses are a familiar sight to many. It didn't stop me from buying a few gifts and mementos for me though!


One of my best purchases was a zoom/wide angle lense and some rechargable batteries to add to my new camera bought at the airport. I'm now back to taking way too many photos and experimenting with all the options. But if I enjoy it what the hell eh? Everything to help me remember
Me at the Light ShowMe at the Light ShowMe at the Light Show

Looks like I have a great idea! The approaching clouds luckily had no effect on the actual light show. Amazing how this is put on every night, can you imagine the electricity bill??
this amazing trip. And an amazing place Hong Kong has been, I absolutely adore this city. I hope to return one day in order to see the beaches and Buddas that surround the city. And I now know that China is somewhere that I want to explore too. It's colourful and entertaining and worth each day spent.


Off to another big city for another big culture shock. Tokyo is followed by a trip down to Kyoto for a couple of weeks. Hope all is well with everybody and thank you for the belated birthday wishes!!

Fiona










Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Downtown TowerDowntown Tower
Downtown Tower

Just one of many many many interesting modern tower blocks
A quick storm has arrived!A quick storm has arrived!
A quick storm has arrived!

The view from Victoria Peak, quite different on a sunny day I should think!
The 'Shopsweeper'The 'Shopsweeper'
The 'Shopsweeper'

Tidy shopfronts mean contstant sweeping!
LanternsLanterns
Lanterns

The striking red symbol
The Chinese DragonThe Chinese Dragon
The Chinese Dragon

Such intense colour everywhere you go!!
IncenseIncense
Incense

All of these incense coils were actually burning-the concentration of the smells were intense!
The People CrossingThe People Crossing
The People Crossing

People people people! Shop shop shop!
Happy ValleyHappy Valley
Happy Valley

The famous racecourse in the middle of the city. What a shame I arrived outside of the betting season!!
Mobile maniaMobile mania
Mobile mania

It would be interesting to find out how many mobile phones each Hong Kong citizen owns within a year...
The Fish MarketThe Fish Market
The Fish Market

So so so so many different varieties!!!
fish marketfish market
fish market

Bag of fish
Hello KittyHello Kitty
Hello Kitty

This silly cat creeps up everywhere
The EndThe End
The End

The sign says it all!


17th August 2005

ooo- how exciting!
I was so excited to get an email alerting me to your new blog..as usual your writing is fab! and the piccies are spectacular... im glad you headed my warning about the 'dog' food.. hehe Lots has happened... with me and with the family back home.. im going to be sending you an email after I write this comment. Love you so much Fi and really miss you xoxo hope your travels continue to inspire you - as they certainly have me =)xoxo cousin Charlie
17th August 2005

The new camera is taking great pictures. Your blog map is becoming impressive with the number of countries you have visited. Love
17th August 2005

New Pics
So many more wonderful images with your new camera. You really give us a sense of the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong. Well done Fiona Love Mom

Tot: 0.222s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 28; qc: 148; dbt: 0.1511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb