Vivi, Me & Beijing


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
November 22nd 2006
Published: November 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, where do i even begin!!!

My last entry was some time ago - due to work and other things I've been up to... galivanting :P


some things of interest:

* Forbidden City

* New Student, ViVi (rnB singer in China)

* My 26th Birthday Party in BEIJING


These were the highlights of my month apart from work... and believe me, they have been pretty busy for me...

Work has been going well, I've actually enjoyed somewhat everyday - apart from some days when all the girls seem to have their rags on the same day - not wanting to chat - I have 95% of girls in my class... which is like 25 girls and 2-3 guys... funnily enough, the guys don't want to talk!


It's fun not having a manager or anyone from the top telling you what to do... people just look up to you and ask you questions (students). The admisitration apparently has been getting my feedback from students - and my lovely students tell me about what they said - bless them! hehehe


Ive been to forbidden city, a pretty big place which I think is quite overrated. Its good to see many places from around centuries ago... but some sections are closed for public access... thats what i wanna see. I went last week, although the whole place is under renovation for the upcoming Olympics in 2008. You can imagine the whole city being under construction... Theres a new railway system going on, which is going to be amazing... starts from the airport to the north of the city... think of it as a fast way to travel to the city and beat the traffic during the games... should be good, cant wait for it to open up... the railway lines havent been placed yet - the main thing thats going on is the poles being concreted together at the moment - its about a half hour drive from airport to Dongzhimen - north of city...

My mate Vincent works for the airport - and he said the airport new terminal also looks amazing.... so thats the latest on beijing construction - wont be finished up for another 6 mnths though.

Forbidden city - in a nutshell - you pay 40 yuan(about 8-10 AUD$) to get in and look around buildings and things in a glass... who knows whats real and whats not... i think the whole set up is a money making tactic..... I could actually do a better way decorating something together from centuries ago. but OK.... we stayed and walked around for 4-5 hours.... and skipped 1/2 of it cause all the palaces were all the same setting and same decor..... Souverign Hill, in Melbourne at least showcases how they lived during those times with people wearing costumes and stuff like that - nothing at the forbidden city apart from pathways and buildings and tourists....


MY BIRTHDAY

what a smashing night.... ive got a CD for guests who came along... turned out to be a funny night as costumes were outragious and i need say more... my house looks like a Harem... arabian nights/genie in a bottle from the night... will stay like this till i leave china,...lol - i just invested alot of time and money into it. If you want to see a copy of the CD, let me know and i can detail it to you, or send it... depending ... but yeh, i wont say much about it further. 😉 it was just nice to spend the night with work collegues from beijing - great turnout and great night.


VIVI

wow, what a girl she is - the RNB singer in China - dubbed as NO 1 female artist by one CCTV (China). She's got a record label supporting her and 2 albums. shes stunning and cute! Think Holly Vallance/Beyonce/ Christina Aguilera tucked into one body. Style of music, personality and looks.

ON my actual birthday (12/11/1980) she invited me to her house as she had got reccomendations about me being a good teacher from students. As a gift of wanting to be a friend and teacher, she signed a copy of her latest album "1001 arabian nights" including a DVD of her film clips... just sweet i tell ya....

Reason for me being her guide is Before she goes international she wanted to meet and learn from a foreign guy who speak with and learn some things. Cause i was thinking - why me, theres soo many other people around china!!! who knows... it was pure chance she heard about me... literally. I'm just enjoying the ride while its there.

I have now been going to her house and teaching her about english and life in Australia. I showed her pictures of friends in Australia.... shes loving it. Really sweet girl, shes soo eager to learn. Just what I was looking for, someone whos not there to piss fart around.

I have a picture of her which seems to not load here. But i will email it if you want. Im in love with her songs, even though its half chinese and english.

I see her every sunday's which is great... ive never really spent time with a pop star before. Its weired. Her manager calls me and tells me that i should see her on TV in a couple of weeks... its just interesting... and bizarre at the same time.


Missing Australia and everyone concerned who loves me..... i love you more! muah!

Ali xxxx














Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0743s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb