2006-2007


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
February 11th 2007
Published: February 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It has been a while since I last had anything to say.

I've had a load of things to do and do... :P

Exams finally finished with 360 of my students, even that was an overwhelming experience.

Classes ceased and doors were shut - so the school is currently EMPTY. Everyones gone home to their families, but I decided to stay in china and explore. Raymond and I booked our tickets to Hangzhou and Shanghai...

Shanghai - It is the the best place I would like to see again, but I had a great time looking at bright lights and buildings. I dont have anything truely amazing to say like I do about Beijing. Although, it seems like a contrast between Sydney and Melbourne.

Beijing has the culture friendly people and all while Shanghai has the party scene (on a higher scale).

New years EVE - my collegues and I celebrated at Bar BLU... great night we had! there were about 15 of us as well as outsider friends I had made.

Christmas time- I was invited to many private parties to attend to, that was great ... private parties are the in thing to do here. I love it cause its intimiate and you meet friends of friends (abit like myspace on a personal level i guess) :P

I met really great people, one of them being Raymond (he happens to be from Sydney as well) he is chinese but been studing in Sydney, finishing off his degree. Ive been hanging out since ive been on holidays and living in one of his apartment complexes - having a great time in the middle of Beijing....

I was thinkiing if I lived in the school (where EVERYTHING is shut) i would be an emotional wreck, lol

so im sane here... lol

INTERESTING ENOUGH:

JOB - well with the holidays approaching in December - I was approached by this lady at school to work for them during the break..

This was the conversation I would never forget -:

(running to class - i am literally running as Im 3 minutes late, and hear this lady calling out)

"Ali, ali.... can speak with you"

"umm... im late to class, but how can I help you?"

"I've heard ..blah blah blah .. about you, would you be available during the break as a school wants a foreign teacher to keep kids enticed during the break, they pay 200yuan an hour and it'll be for 4 hours a day 5 days a week"

(me hearing this is shoked look) cause its like 33 dollars an hour - like a gold mine here.

anyway.. i gave her my number... got in contact and wella....

that was in december

she wanted me back in Jan 25th.... to start for a month but be back specifically on these days
I changed my ticket cause i had booked a flight to south of china - and had to be back early for this job as i thought it would be great.

after making changes to suit their needs as everything was according to what they wanted and promised:

I got back everything prepared a few days in advance.... and the night before she called.

"im sorry the programme has been cancelled" ..... but you could work for us in March 😊

I told her that i would never work for such a disorganised company who would cancel all my plans and tell me 12 hours before I start that its over.... then she had the audacity to say "March would be a great time to start working with us as it would have good students"


THIS IS CHINA - these things do happen.... NFI


I love you and leave you...
















Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb