Kashgar - Land of the Monobrow


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Xinjiang » Kashgar
June 21st 2006
Published: July 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

It's been along time coming but I can finally say I am loving China! I'm in a bizarre place, a province called "Xinjiang" north of the Middle Kingdom. Xinjiang is boardered by Russia, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Afghanistan, Pakistan and India. This amazing cross road in Asia has an incredible mix of middle eastern, central asian and chinese culture. Here are some of my notes along the silk road.

The Green Eyed "Chinese"


Yeah there really are -- and they are called the "Uigher" (Weegar) people. Here, the "chinese" sometimes have long wavey brown hair, piercing blue/ green eyes and middle eastern/ central asian features. The Uigher people have Turkish roots and speak a language that is derived from Turkish. Walking down the street I see women with head pieces and some in the head to toe outfit in 30 + degree heat.

It really is a sensory overload here -- the food, the people and the language is all different to the rest of China.

Throw away the Eyebrow wax - Xinjiang is Monobrow Heaven


Kashgar is the only town I know where Monobrows are IN. It is the place to be where perfect monobrows are the envy of every girl. Young girls and teenagers have Monobrows drawn in if they dont have it naturally!! Older girls tend not to have it though...what it all means I do not know.

Uigher People


Walking down the streets of Kashgar the most enchanting thing about this place are the people. They have incredibly interesting and beautiful faces. The way they relate to each I find beautiful also-- the way they embrace each other with handshakes and hugs, a sense of mateship I haven't seen in a long time. I can't count the number of times I ventured into a backstreet and found children pottering about and go totally belistics with my digital camera. The camera's captured their innocent faces, but in reality they are a hyperactive bunch of troublemakers!!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Uigher Girl....?Uigher Girl....?
Uigher Girl....?

Holly getting Uighered up


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb