The Great Wall part2


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » The Great Wall
June 24th 2007
Published: June 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Everyone I know always says that they would love to go and see the Great Wall. I myself was looking forward to it. Nothing however can prepare you for the scale, size, and beauty of the place. I was at Balding, the most touristy place on earth, but It still didn't take away from my amazement of the place.
At the bottom of the main entrance gate, there is a cable car(75yuan). Most people however opt to scramble up the wall itself. The start is a pleasant enough walk, but very crowded. You have to be patient to get though some of the small gaps passing though the watch towers. After a while the old and unfit started to dissapear as this section of the wall started to get very steep. This allowed me more time and space to appreciate the wonderful views. I walked all the way up to the cable car, past the few remaining surviours. For me the walking was the easy bit, it was the heat that was the most difficult thing to deal with. Must have seated out a gallon of liquid. Trust the Chinese though to have shops on the wall itself. At least I was able to drink lots of water on the way.
At the top of this section the wall just stops. There is a gap of about a few hundred meters to the next part. This is where the cable car drops of the passengers. About 400m before the top there is a small path leading across to the next section. Being brave, foolhardy and eager to see more I went across and started another steep climb. This section was by far the best. Compared to the number of people on the other bit, this was empty. At times the wall took crazy turns up and over the hills. I climbed up one steep section only to go down and equally steep bit. On the sides of the wall there were railings for people to hold on to on the way down. Doubt they were there when they built the thing.
After a few hours, I headed back the way I came. I noticed a gate that was open to allow people to cut across the mountain to the first section. Took it and walked down though all the tourist shops. Ended up haggling for a gold medal that says Congratulations on climbing the great wall. Its going to take pride of place on my bedroom wall when I get back home. It was probably the best day I've had so far. Would go back in a heartbeat.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.071s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb