The Great Wall part1


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » The Great Wall
June 22nd 2007
Published: June 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Warning. This will be a long blog.

I spent a few days looking for the perfect tour of the Great Wall. One that doesnt go to all those government shops on the way and one that will allow me to spend as much time there as I wanted. The best I found was a tour that stopped at only two shops.Booked it, since I came all this way.
Was talking to some other travellers later and I was given a webpage to look at. On it was a local student who takes you to any part of the wall you want. Looked good and it had lots of good write ups by western visitors. Cancelled my crappy tour and booked that one instead for Friday. Come Thursday night I got a phone call saying that the tour is postphoned to Saturday. Since I had a flight booked to Hong Kong that morning, I wasnt a happy chappy.

Friday morning I got up at 6am and took a 15minute walk to the metro station at Andgimen(circle line) and went two stops to Jishuitan. Went for another 5minute walk to get the no. 919 bus to Balding. However what no one pointed out, was there is two 919buses. One is a local trip that stops off everywhere and the other is an air conditioned coach that takes half the time. I got the wrong one.
The entire bus was having a debate about what I presume was, what is the best way to get the silly white man to his destination. A bit of paper was past about and after a few minutes it was handed to me with the words please follow me on it. A man sitting a few seats in front of me was going to make sure I got there. Thanked them all(sher sher) and sat and got my little puzzle book out.
Got off after and hour and jumped on another bus. Transport and tickets cost me 75Yuan(5quid). Half the price of the cheapest tour. It was just before nine so I had and entire day to explore the Wall at my lesuire.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

GW10GW10
GW10

In the watch tower, peoples names were written everywhere. Normally I wouldnt do it, but I thought I would get in on the act. I only had a pencil though. Should last till it rains.
GW12GW12
GW12

Inside one of the watch towers. At the start everyone(millions of tourists I thought) was trying to squeeze though the small gaps.
GW14GW14
GW14

You even have vandals in China. Lack of disipline in schools and at the home, I say
GW16GW16
GW16

The chinese always add shops to or within major historical toursit sites. Read a story about Starbucks trying to open up a store within the Forbidden City in Beijing. Everyone was complaing about it. A politican was quoted as saying "If its not a starbucks, it will be another shop. What is the difference?"


24th June 2007

long blog entry
did your pc break down or did the government censor your entries? i can't believe how white you still look after all this time. can't think of anything humourous to say that wont embarrass you by being all lovey and parental so i'll just continue following your journey and keep my comments until you're home again. remember to try get pictures of some squat toilets to give us some idea ofwhat to expect. see you soon.
24th June 2007

Hi Dad. Warning Squat toliet information ahead.
No pics, but heres what to expect. When you use a squat toliet, you dont want to hang about afterwards to take a picture. You want to get out of them as soon as. Most have a bucket of water nearby with a ladel to help flush it away. However sometimes it isnt designed to flush away. The attendents job is to come in and scoop it out every so often. It must be the crappiest job in the world. Its so clatty. Toliet paper is also a no. You have a water hose to either wash your bum or your hands. Depends on how you cleaned yourself. Sometimes it might only be a ladel. Thankfully there are not many about. China seems to have the worst ones. Indonesia has the most. You wont hear me ever say this again, but thank God for McDonalds and the rest. They always have a clean, flushing toliet

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0822s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb