Una Fiesta At The Old Flat


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
July 9th 2009
Published: July 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

On Monday, July 6, I received an invitation from a Spanish friend, Daniel, to come to a party at my old flat. Needless to say, I was excited to say how the Spaniards were treating my old flat (j/k), but also meeting several new expats.

In Daniel's email, he mentioned he lived on Xinzha Lu; but in fact, the flat is located on Wuding Lu, Changhua Lu. I wrote him back correcting the address in hopes of lessening the number of confused guests.

One of the best things about Tuesday night's extravaganza was the trip to the flat. Without a doubt, I could have been blind folded. I honestly do not think I actually paid attention to my surroundings - probably not the best idea - but it was hilarious not having to think of where I was going and how I was going to get there. After speaking with my aunt on the phone (near the flat), I stood-up and started walking towards the flat and I heard somebody yelling something, but I didn't know what it was. It kept getting louder and louder, so I turned around and just saw two men having their own convo. Then, I heard "Sam!" with a Spanish accent, turned around again and there was Gonzalo. "Are you looking for my flat?" He asked, shortly before smacking his forehead for forgeting that I lived in there before. No, I replied, but thanks! Apparently he was walking up-and-down the street to make sure interns could find the place - so Daniel didn't get the email, eh?

Overall, the party was great. There were so many people from around the world and it was just amazing. Whenever it comes to meeting new people, there are always the generic questions: where are you from? why did you choose China? Shanghai? how long have you been in China? how long will you stay? After that somewhat boring ice breaker, the fun begins. People start taking about places they've traveled to, their jobs/internships, and stereotypes. Decifering between accents is always fun in this setting as well. Take a group of people standing in the form of a circle, for instance. The bloke to my right was an Aussie; a Frenchie was in front of me; my Chinese tutor on the left; and a bunch of Spaniards nearby. It was quite the crowd and I loved every minute of it. It is truly unbelievable to think that in one room - rather small and hot - there were roughly 10 or more different nationalities. From what I recall: French, Swedish, Italian, African, American, British/English, Spanish, Chinese, Australian, Korean, Latin American (can't remember where exactly), etc.

Halfway through the night, I almost made my way around the room meeting new people. Then, shortly after a quick pose with some people, I turned toward this guy who was from Sweden. What I loved most about meeting him was the fact that once he began talking to me, I thought he was from Sweden. So Petra, I guess that means I can almost pick out a Swed in a crowd, right? He was a lot of fun. We talked about Sweden, hockey and all that jazz. Good times.

The last person I met was British. He was pleasant and we went through the basics of life, Shanghai and China. Then, he asked me, "So how many Americans are here?" "That's a random question," I replied - followed by a saying that I had met a few. "Can you point them out?" I asked. "Oh Americans are easy to point out," he said. Really?! He proceeded to point out all the Americans in the room and told me how he knew they were American and what not. Then I asked, "Did you know I was American when you first saw me?" "Oh no, I thought you were French!" LOL. I am not quite sure how I differed from the other four, but then I realised...most of the people he pointed out were from California - home to many stereotypes. When I told my roommate about that guy and how he thought that I was French, she agreed - or at least she said I looked European. So Mom and Dad, looks like I am becoming more and more European these days. Interesting.

I have decided I love almost all Spanish-speaking people. Over the last few years, I have met so many Spanish-speakers and all of them are bloody fantastic! In addition, after the two nights I have spent with the Spaniards from Madrid, I need to go back to Spain and go to Madrid. Not only to see them, but also, to see Madrid. Because if city is half as amazing as the people I've met from there
Three marvelous chicasThree marvelous chicasThree marvelous chicas

The Brit and Swed are in the back. lol.
so far, it has got to be great. I am convinced.

All in all, it was a truly superb night and I am so glad I went.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb