My 4th of July - in Shanghai


Advertisement
Asia
July 6th 2009
Published: July 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The fourth of July was a bit unconventional:

* Woke up at around noon (first time I have done that all summer so judging is prohibited).

* Took a nice long, hot shower.

* Ate veggies and noodles with chopsticks for lunch.

* Went to the Fabric Market with my Chilian friend, Olivia, at 3p.m.
- where we proceeded to walk through three floors of fabric.

* Went to the Fake Market on Nanjing Xi Lu.
- where several Chinese men and women said, "Hi pretty ladies, would you like a watch, bags, sunglasses?" You would think they would try to be a little bit more creative by asking us if we wanted something that we didn't already have. Both of us actually said, "Oh no thanks, we have one." But then, most of them replied with..."Want another?!" Funny, eh?

* Took a taxi to Olivia's brother's apartment.
- I met both her brother and his Chilian friend, Mario. We got to chat about sports, Chilian life, American life, music, Transformers (lol), etc. Martin (Olivia's brother) grilled me on the differences between soccer and American football. "Why is it football if they use their hands?" Whoa now, I didn't say I was an expert on the sport...I just said I liked it. lol. All fun and games though. Half-way through the night, I got the feeling that Martin likes to mess around with people (especially his sister) - so Olivia, when are you getting married? Well dear brother, she replied, after you get married.
At about 8p.m. we went to Element Fresh, where I had a delicious cobb salad and lemon tea - a little too healthy for a fourth of July I'd say. After dinner, we were leaving the restaurant and Martin said, "Sam do you smoke? And is it Sam or Samantha?" In answer to both your questions, no, I do not smoke and my full name is Samantha, but you may call me Sam. I also included the short version of why I like being called Sam - parents yelled Samantha or Samantha Grace when I did something bad (didn't happen too often though :D ) and the "th" is difficult for most foreigners to pronounce, so I simplify it. Aren't I nice?! For the rest of the night, Martin proceeded to call me "Samantha Grace". Luckily for him, I am used to people calling me by my full name here.
When we got back to their apartment, we sat, relaxed a little bit and drank some Pisco. Pisco is a liquor, which is made in chile. According to the Chilians, it is a famous liquor and Chilians drink it all the time; but there is also a slight battle between Peruvians and Chilians. Technically, Pisco is made in Chile, but there is a Pisco port where a lot of Pisco is transported to Peru and other places (or something like that) and so Peruvians think they make it and that it is theirs, but in fact, it's Chile's!!
It was about 11:50 when I looked at my watched and noticed that the fourth was almost over and Olivia and I raised our glasses to toast to the American holiday - so nice.
At 12:45a.m., we left the apartment to go to M1NT - a high-profile club for mostly millionaires located in only Cannes, Shanghai, Hong Kong and Beijing. Basically, to be a member of club M1NT, you have to pay $1,000 a year. The only reason why we got in was because I knew somebody in the club who was able to let us in. Although, aside from the sweet shark aquarium inside the club and the view, I wasn't all that impressed. Most clubs like M1NT play nothing but techno music and they are packed with very arrogant expats, so it is more of a chance to say "I went there." After about an hour or so of M1NT, we went to Lounge18, located near The Bund, which is similar to M1NT but not nearly as high-profile. Still, more techno music. Needless to say, I was technoed-out after that night, which ended for me at 4:20a.m. In case you were wondering, Shanghai is all about the nightlife!


So, that was my Fourth of July! Uncoventional...but still a good time!

Advertisement



7th July 2009

Does China (or any of its subcultures) acknowledge the 4th of July at all? I wouldn't blame them if they didn't being as though the day has nothing to do with China, but I can think of worse excuses to blow up fireworks.
8th July 2009

Answer
Yes, they acknowledge the 4th. lol. American Chamber of Commerce in Shanghai actually had a special 4th of July event, but I didn't go. There are also several US restaurants (or Americans running restos) in Shanghai, thus several restaurants/clubs/bars had special activities for Americans (e.g. barbeques, mini fireworks).

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb