Week of June 21st


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
June 25th 2009
Published: June 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It has been a crazy, eventful week I'd say.

Sunday:

I met Olivia (Chilian intern from SBR) at People's square to watch Chinese parents exchange their sons and daughters CVs. After an hour or so of scopping out the competition, the two of us went the the China Europe International Business School, or more commonly known as CEIBS, for an all-afternnon event. The event was called Innovate China, and it was a global challenge between international business schools that came up with possible solutions to problems in a Chinese company called Shanxi Tangrong Group.

Since it was Sunday, I gave my dad a quick call to wish him Happy Father's Day. I unfortunately didn't get a hold of him, but I left him a cute Father's Day message. Hope you got it Dad and I miss you!

Monday:

Next Step Connections interviewed me. I think they are trying to update the NSC website, so they're searching for easy targets who are loving their internship. Smooth move NSC! 😉

Tuesday:

Well, this week in general has been insane because the deadline for my 600-word feature on Chinese graduates finding job opportunities is vastly approaching. Plus, the magazine's July issue went to print today. It was pretty amazing to be a part of the production process I must say.
After work today a few colleagues and I went to Southern Belle (a local bar) for happy hour. Budweizer for 15 yuan ($2)...pas mal. Bud isn't normally my drink of choice, but when most beers are roughly Rmb60, I am happy to drink it.

Wednesday:

Just did the usual stuff today - nothing worth reporting.

Thursday:

Today was jam-packed day. I went to the Jin Mao Tower, Grand Hyatt Hotel, for an event - Shanghai International Financial Center: Solution Forum. The event was about how Shanghai needs to become a global financial center.
At 8p.m. I went to BED Lounge for a Next Step Connections cocktail party, which was a lot of fun. I met some new interns, hung out with old ones, drank a couple free beers, and ate some mini-snacks. All in all, it was a pretty good day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb