Vin & Chocolat


Advertisement
Asia
June 27th 2009
Published: July 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Naturally, any bar that sells wine, chocolates (qiao ke li) and other tasty treats are enticing for people such as myself, but this one has caught my attention more than once. And both times, I didn't have to pay a dime or yuan.

The firs time was actually a farewell night for a friend of mine, Monica, who was moving to Beijing in a week. She was offered a better position in another company than in Shanghai so of course she took it. I was a little late getting there because my taxi driver was so slow and there were a few traffic jams - not his fault. One jam, however, was a little nuts because we waited at a stop light twice and then as we were crossing the intersection, we saw a big construction truck with a motorbike underneath it. I didn't see anyone or any blood so I am assuming everything but the big turned out okay. Or at least, I hope. I got out of the taxi at Taikang Lu and I had to walk through a couple of small alleys to get to this tall, slender building. I freaked out on the way there though because I felt something crawling on me, but I couldn't see what it was. It was a GINORMOUS BEETLE! I mean holy cow! It crawled all around my chest and shoulders until I finally squirmed enough that it flew off. Now, I don't normally freak out with bugs, however, when I can't see them...it is an entirely different story. After the bug incident, I made it to the bar where I was immediately handed a free glass of wine and whatever kind of chocolate dessert I felt like tasting - a perfect treat after the killer bug experience. J'ai guote du vin rouge, blanc et du champagne, c'etait incroyable! There were so many desserts, a few too many in fact. Good music, good company, an all-around good time.

Most of us from the farewell party left to go to Windows Underground, a popular club. It wasn't my cup of tea, but they played great music and the dancing was a lot of fun.

The second time at Vin et Chocolat was a wine tasting, which was very good and it almost felt like a repeat of the other night. This time, however, there was a birthday in stead of a farewell, and we went to Muse, another club.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb