Bikers, Bicyclers and Scooters


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
June 4th 2009
Published: June 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

BikerBikerBiker

Just an example of the kind of bikes/bikers I get to see everyday.
So most of you already know there are roughly 1.3 billion people living in China; and of those 1.3 billion, millions live in Hong Kong, Shanghai and Beijing. Now, picture thousands and thousands of people on bikes, motorcycles and scooters all going to work in the morning. Scary? Naaah.

The first time I tried crossing the street here in Shanghai, I was petrified - 100 percent. Some bikers obey street laws, but most of them have their own laws. Forget 'no turning right on red,' cause people turn left on red! You constantly have to look both ways, even when there is a little green man. No exceptions.
But now, after three weeks, I am pro. 😉 Forget sidewalks - I walk on the street, like all the pros do. I almost got side-swiped yesterday: there was a little green man telling me to go, I looked left, right, up, down and then...a truck comes tearing around the corner and passed me with about FOUR INCHES between my face and his car. It was nuts. But hey, no reason to worry...I'm still being cautious. Je promis!

It's absolutely wicked though and I love it. Walking to and from work kind of gives me an adrenaline rush.

The other thing is...I have never wanted to ride on a motorcycle more in my life then I do right now in Shanghai! All I see everyday are couples and friends riding on bikes and scooters together. It's so cute. Most bikes have flat racks behind the seat and many people sit on those - side-saddle. So freakin' cute and it just looks like a blast riding on a motorcycle too. Although, I'm still not sure if I have the guts for a highway ride, but we'll see. In due time.

So, you friends back home who are getting motorcycle licenses or who already have a motorcycle and all...I wanna take a ride! :D

Advertisement



12th June 2009

kathrine.mccullough@gmail.com
When you move to New York let's go in on a Vespa!!!! ;-)

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb