Perks of the job...and today's agenda


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
June 5th 2009
Published: June 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today is Paris Franz's (intern, sweet name right?) last day at SBR. Aside from her allergies going berserk, it's going pretty well.

For lunch, we went to this Italian resto called Vita Dolce. It's a lovely restaurant - wooden staircase up to the second floor where the dining actually takes place. From 11-1p.m., the resto has a "business lunch" that includes an appetizer, main course, dessert and "free flowing" drinks - all for 78RMB ($11).

Now, ordinarilly, an 11-dollar meal is a bit over my budget; however, the best thing about going to a restuarant close to work would be the likelihood of your boss going to the same one. :D When we asked to pay our bill, the nice server told us "that gentleman over there already paid for your bill" - YES! Xie xie! Gracies! Merci! Thanks! Of course, we walked straight over to the editor-n-chief and gave our thanks for the spectacular meal. Wahoo!

And now, I'm completely stuffed and due for une petite sieste. Ah well, all is good. This afternoon will be quite short since many of us are leaving to go have drinks on this hotel balcony in celebration of Paris' last day.

After drinks, I'll head home for my Mandarin lessons with Vicky (English name) from 7:30p.m.-9p.m.

Although, what I'm really excited for tonight is the Absolute Ice Bar that Riina, Andrew and I are going to tonight. I'm so excited. Everything is made out of ice: glasses, chairs, floors, etc. There are a few Ice Bars around the world and most of them take ice from a Swedish river. How they got it to china...I have no clue. According to Paris, who went to one last night, she said it's lovely and they give customers a parka (jacket). I'm not sure how long I'll stay there, but I eager for a taste of cold temps. It should be interesting!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb