Happy Chinese New Year!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
January 28th 2006
Published: January 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hun DunHun DunHun Dun

These tasty meat and veggie dumplings representing old timey chinese gold peices are eaten during the new year.
Xin nian kuai le!
First let me say that I always enjoyed celebrating the chinese new year at home (I mean what 10 year old can argue with free food and and a free dollar, right Elizabeth?), but in China it's craziness (and I just stayed in with family.) The day essentially consisted of nonstop eating, and if there was a theme I would have to say it was eat and be noisy. My relatives started coming in at lunch time to eat hun dun soup (boiled meat and vegetable dumplings that look like the gold peices people used back in the day.) Then we busted out all the snacks and treats we had in the house so that everyone could sit around and chat until it came time for some serious majiang. Soon it was time for dinner with 14 different dishes set out on the table. Ok, here's a tip for eating chinese dinners. Though there is a lot of food to choose from when you sit down be sure to take it slow, really slow because there are at least 6 or 7 more dishes that have yet to take their place on the table. Anyways, there were
Nutty for the New YearNutty for the New YearNutty for the New Year

Yum yum, nuts gather for new year snacking.
lots of toasts and jokes made during our eating free for all. I finally left the table half in pain from how much i had eaten to hang out with my cousins. Snacks were put out again, and my youngest uncle set up his karaoke machine to serenade us all. He sounded so bad, but he was so into it, I was crying I was laughing so hard. Others soon joined in while my eldest uncle and aunt danced along to it all (Oh how I wish I could post video!) At around midnight we went outside to join the other 15 million people setting off fireworks. The city sounded like it was being bombed for a solid half hour. It was a lot of fun, and it made me wish that fireworks were legal in Illinois. After admiring some of the really big (and loud) fireworks being set off we went upstairs to eat tang yuan (a sticky rice dumpling with sweet filling) Everybody started to leave after the traditional dessert was finished. My cousin and I went to bed around 2:00 trying to fall asleep as fireworks continued into the next day.

Ok I have to give
Jia renJia renJia ren

Relatives during snack time. Pictured are aunts and uncles and my cousin.
special mention to my xiao jiu ma (my youngest aunt or technically my youngest uncle's wife) She made all of the food that we ate, and it seems like there isn't a moment she isn't working. She works early in the morning and comes back to do all the house work that need to be done, and through it all she has the best personality. She tells the best stories and makes the funniest jokes. Just some thanks to someone who does all the thankless work, a really amazing woman.

And that was my first Chinese New Year spent in china. I sign off waving the crazy amount of money I got in your face. Jealous?? 😉

-jeanette


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

MajiangMajiang
Majiang

Stakes are high when majiang is on the table :) The lovely chef (my xiao jiu ma) is on the left with the flowery sleeves.
Wan fanWan fan
Wan fan

Dinner! ...I've forgotten what hunger feels like
Chi!Chi!
Chi!

Eat! Our eating free for all begins. It quickly became standing room only.
Gan beiGan bei
Gan bei

A toast to the ladies.
FireworksFireworks
Fireworks

Oooh, ahh.
FirecrackersFirecrackers
Firecrackers

Shweet! That's my uncle on the left.
Tang yuanTang yuan
Tang yuan

Sticky and yummy, they symbolize unity (cuz they stick together :)


1st February 2006

Love your blog
Dear Jeanette, I never knew until now that the little camera and the PC you brought with you could do such wonders. Your travelblog made thousands of miles vanish and made me feel as if I were traveling with you and visiting my Shanghai family, even though I have to stay and work in Chicago. Great job! Love, Mom
1st February 2006

yummy
hi my dear. your mom's comment is so sweet! :o) i'm jealous of the yummy food. i'm hungry just looking at all these pics. and it's true. this travelblog makes it seem like you're right here, telling all of us about your cool adventure. i'm curious as to the "language barrier." how's the understanding going? bye, babe. lots of love from me as usual. <3, yours truly.

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb