Red China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
January 27th 2006
Published: January 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hot!Hot!Hot!

Decorations being sold outside of the Old City. Can anyone tell me why they use peppers? I don't get it.
Yesterday I went sight seeing with my uncle Herong jiujiu in Old Shanghai and at the waterfront called the Bund (isn't that just an awful name for such a pretty place?) On the bus ride there I determined that people spend an absurd amount of time waiting to get places (I don't know what my rush is...it's not like i need to get anywhere on time.) Outside of the Old City people were buying last minute new years decorations. While I was waiting for my uncle to buy plastic bags (I wonder what he needed them for...) I decided it was the perfect opportunity to fiddle around with my camera, hence the attempts at more interesting pictures. Inside the Old City there were beautiful lanterns strung everywhere for the new year and the lantern festival that follows. The buildings also had these gaudy cartoonish decorations that really took away from the charm of the place, but they were fun to look at. We ate rice dumplings with sweet filling for lunch in the Old City. The restaurant that we ate at was in between a Dairy Queen and a Starbucks (I suddenly had a craving for a blizzard 😊 and across
New Years DecorationsNew Years DecorationsNew Years Decorations

At the market leading to the Old City people were buying decorations for the chinese new year.
from the famous xiao long restaurant pictured below. After the Old City we headed to the Bund and walked along the promenade. On the way we ran into those monkey-toting beggars and I got that picture that I knew you were all longing for. I was harrassed for money by one of the men after taking the picture. My unce told him off, but not before I had convinced myself that he had given me some crazy monkey disease. The bund was pretty and I took more pictures than I'm sure my uncle cared to wait for me for (did that make sense?) On the 5 thousand hour bus ride home I saw 3 more Starbucks, a Coca-cola store, and a WB store. We also passed through the ritzy part of Shanghai that had stores like Marc Jacobs, Louis Vuitton, Salvatore Ferragamo (i have no idea if im spelling these right, but you get the idea), and Dior. When I got home I wanted to pass out and ended up skipping my hot shower that i love telling you about.

So after seeing all of those stores (and seriously, the spread of Starbucks is starting to freak me out)
Old City EntranceOld City EntranceOld City Entrance

Even though it's soo tourist-y I really like the Old City because all the old architecture is preserved and I like it so much more than the skyscrapers popping up everywhere.
I was sort of sad. You can practically stand back and watch western influence creep over the city. I mean, I guess it's good that China (at least parts of it) are staying in stride with the rest of the world, but I'm not so fond of the western materialism that follows (you know what I mean... "I love Starbucks! Do you like Starbucks? Check out my new Louis Vuitton bag!" :p) I think I'm worried because the young people (god, I'm talking like I'm sixty) are strongly influenced by these trendy pop stars, so they spend a lot fo time and money trying to keep up with them. I guess I just want China to stay that loud, ping pong loving, down and dirty, escape from America, but that's just asking for more communism. I'll just have to take the good with the bad while I'm here. Ok enough of my mindless rambling. You stay classy San Diego...

much love,
jeanette


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

LanternsLanterns
Lanterns

Walking into the Old City I was pleasantly suprised by the gorgeous lanterns hanging up for the new year.
$$$$
$$

More new years decorations in a square at the Old City.
A famous tea houseA famous tea house
A famous tea house

Isn't it nice? It sits on the water with a winding bridge/walkway leading to it. Ach, but damn those tacky decorations!
My favorite food!My favorite food!
My favorite food!

This place in the Old City is known for their xiao long bao zi (small, steamed meat dumplings) There's a row of cooks making them assembly line style.
OhhhOhhh
Ohhh

Shiny, so I took a picture like a good tourist.
MONKEY!MONKEY!
MONKEY!

I ran into those monkey guys again so I got y'all a picture! I got harrassed for money by one of them, but it was well worth it!
The bundThe bund
The bund

This is the prettiest street in Shanghai. I love the western architecture.
The bund IIThe bund II
The bund II

The old wastern style buildings look out across the waterfront to the new skyline. The tall magenta building is the Oriental Pearl Tower. It's not my favorite, but it's the easiest way to recognize shanghai. The sphere on the lower left is kinda cool. There are actually 2 (you can sorta see the top of second one). They're part of the convention center and printed on each of them are 2 halves of the world.


27th January 2006

LITTLE JOHN
IM SO GLAD YOU HAVE THIS THING. this is so cool. i love china. it sounds amaaaaazing. i miss you lots and love you lots and miss you lots again. By the way, you are an amazing picture taker. or photographer. or wahtever. but those are goooodly. take care of yourself ladyyyy, muah!
27th January 2006

what beautiful pics!
so the purpose of this comment is not to say that i love you( although i really do love you!). it's to tell you what an amazing photographer you are! honestly. these pics are astonishing! they belong in a china book. i swear. you should get prints of them. like the one called "the bund" could be on a postcard! i love it! anywho just wanted to share. hope all is well and i love this blog! woooooo hooo! toodles!
28th January 2006

I miss you!
I was mentioned in your blog! You cannot even imagine how honored I am! You sound like a true tourist! Man, I would have enjoyed that monkey so much. Please, next time you see a dancing monkey, take advantage of the situation. Don't disappoint me! I love you!
28th January 2006

Blog of the Moment at About.com
Hi Jeanette, FYI you've been made the Blog of the Moment at About.com's Asia for Visitors site. We're watching you :)... http://goasia.about.com -- Greg PS Great Pics of Shanghai
30th January 2006

hi
I like the pictures a lot. Congrats on blog of the moment! We miss u a lot at home, but its worth it as long as u bring me back something nice! Do it (shaking fist)! Bye.
30th January 2006

WOWSA - gotta keep up!
Jeanettie - GREAT pictures!!!! Sounds like you are having a great time - should I start practicing my chinese so that you and your cousins, aunts, uncles and Waigong (he looks VERY good) can laugh at me like you and Sam used to???? AND - answer your Mom's email questions!!! She raises a REALLY good point. AND - tell Sam to email me!!! Love you - see you in about 6 weeks! Aunt Anne

Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb