Shanghai Surprise - Shanghai Bye Bye


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
November 18th 2008
Published: November 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day Seven - Till Next time



Hey, so my last morning in Shanghai, waking up to beeping motorcycles, buses, and cars. Had to get up early to day to venture out to the airport. I took the crazy train called the MagLev from Shanghai to Pudong. AKA the Shanghai Magnetic Levitation Demonstration Operation Line. Normally a 45 minute car ride and intensely squished into a 8 minute magnetic bullet train experience!

I had the option to take a taxi, call a driver, but nooooo way was I passing up this opportunity. Some detail of this ride include: The journey takes 7 minutes and 20 seconds to complete the distance of 30 km. A train can reach 350 km/h (220 mph) in 2 minutes, with the maximum normal operation speed of 431 km/h (268 mph) reached thereafter.

And lastly, my shopping goodies. This is EVERYTHING I bought on my trip here in Shanghai. A lot or a little, you decide. I had a week, I was sightseeing, it rained, I was by myself, I did not know the language whatsoever.

I plan to go back for the purpose of shopping only!

The total price you
Boarding the MagLev trainBoarding the MagLev trainBoarding the MagLev train

A very small train, similar to a bullet.
wonder? Message me or leave a comment as to your guess and then I'll let you know how expensive it all was.

Back to Hong Kong! Sad to leave, but happy to be back to the familiar...(it honestly is still kind of weird saying that knowing that I've only been here for a few weeks...)


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

HousingHousing
Housing

Some of the housing I passed on the way out really were very small, run down, and downright falling apart-looking.
HousingHousing
Housing

However, people still lived there.
246 km/hr246 km/hr
246 km/hr

As you can see by the picture, it is quite clear. Traveling at this speed was still crazy fast.
431 km/hr431 km/hr
431 km/hr

Now, you can tell by the picture that at this speed, it's a bit harder to control the camera. Not that the train had lots of turbulence, but when you're going this fast, how can you not.
Capturing pics at this speedCapturing pics at this speed
Capturing pics at this speed

It felt like going through time.
Black leather bootsBlack leather boots
Black leather boots

Hey, it feels like summer flip flop weather, but you have to keep in mind the fashion season.
My GoodiesMy Goodies
My Goodies

5 Dress shirts 2 leather shoes 2 leather belts 3 ties Dvds/cds Pair of tailored khakis


18th November 2008

Bullet train
pictures are captured in the right moment to reflect your experience with the train. It is really.... fast?
20th November 2008

50 bucks
23rd November 2008

Shopping price guess
100 CDN vs probably North American retail price of about $700 I'm basing this on the ratio between HK to CDN dollars of 7:1 A random parallel relationship, but might be more reasonable than 50 bucks Jace.

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0734s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb